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FEDERAL REQUIREHENTS AND STATE HINIHUH DRINKING AGES: UPDATE 

Federal Requirements 

The U.S. Congress has encouraged states to enact a uniform minimum drinking 
age of 21 by withholding federal highway funds from states that have not adopted 
the 21 drinking age by October 1, 1986. On that date states not in compliance 
will lose 5% of their federal highway funds, exclusive of safety funds. In 
fiscal year 1987, an additional 10% will be withheld (P.L. 98-363). Since the 
federal law was passed in 1984, 18 states have raised their drinking ages, but a 
variety of questions have arisen concerning the interpretation of the federal 
law. 

Several recent changes have clarified most of these questions. Public Law 
99-272, the Budget Reconciliation Act of 1985, included the following: 1) State 
laws ra1s1ng the drinking age to 21 which are passed prior to October 1, 1986 
can include a "grandfather clause" allowing those who could legally drink prior 
to passage of the new drinking age to continue to drink. 2) 10% of each year's 
federal highway fund will be withheld in every year in which a state's drinking 
age is not 21. Under the original law, only funds for fiscal years 1987 and 
1988 were to be withheld. 3) Funding was reduced permanently for years after 
1988. Funding for those years cannot be recovered even if the state raises the 
drinking age at a later date. The \Vis cons in Department of Transportation esti­
mates Wisconsin will lose $6.97 million in fiscal 1987 and $13.93 million in 
fiscal 1988 if our drinking age is not 21. 

In addition to P.L. 99-272, the National Highway Traffic Safety Administra­
tion has issued its final rule implementing P.L. 98-363. The rule indicates 
that funds will be withheld only if a state has no law against "purchase and 
public possession" by those under 21. Consumption in a person's home is not 
mentioned by the laws or the rule. The rule lists the following instances in 
which a person under 21 may be allowed to consume alcoholic beverages under a 
state law: 1) for an established religious purpose; 2) when accompanied by a 
parent, spouse or legal guardian age 21 or older; or 3) for medical purposes 
when prescribed or administered by a licensed physician. Possession in the 
course of lawful employment is also allowed. 

State Hinimum Drinking Ages 

Between 1971 and 1976, Wisconsin and 27 other states lowered their drinking 
ages in reaction to the lower national voting age. Since 1976, 35 states have 
raised their drinking ages, many more than once. Fifteen states raised their 
drinking ages in 1985 alone (5 of the acts to take effect in 1986). Three 
states Vermont, Hinnesota and West Virginia -- have raised their drinking 
ages so far in 1986. Bills are awaiting action by the governor in Hawaii and 
Iowa. Forty states now have a 21 drinking age. The recent actions by Hinnesota 
and Iowa will leave Wisconsin surrounded by states with a 21 drinking age, 
although the effects may not be felt immediately because both Hinnesota and Iowa 
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will allow 19- and 20-year olds who could legally drink prior to the effective 
date of the charge to continue to drink. 

Th~ table below gives the minimum drinking age for all 50 states as of May 
1, 1986. If 2 ages are given, separated by a slash, the first is the drinking 
age for beer or beer and wine, the second is for all other alcoholic beverages. 
States which lowered their drinking age between 1971 and 1976 are indicated by 
an asterisk. For states which have raised their drinking age since 1976, the 
date of the most recent change is given in parentheses. Some states have raised 
their drinking age several times since 1976. Changes in a number of states have 
not yet taken effect. 

See Legislative Reference Bureau Briefs 83-3, "Current Trends in Teen-age 
Drinking Laws", and 85-7, "Border Hopping: Problems Associated With Differing 
Drinking Ages Between States", for additional information. 

Drinking 
Age 

18 

18/21 

19 

19/21 

21 

HINIMUM DRINKING AGE IN THE 50 STATES 

States 

Louisiana 

Colorado 

Idaho>> 
Montana* (1979) 

Ohio (1982) 

Alabama'' (1985) 
Alaska* (1983) 
Arizona>> (1985) 
Arkansas 
California 
Connecticut>> (1985) 
Delaware>> (1984) 
Florida* (1985) 
Georgia'' (9/30/86)** 
Hawaii* (10/1/86)''*'' 
ILLINOIS>> (1980) 
Indiana 
IOWA"' (9 I 1/86 )**'' 
Kansas (1985) 
Kentucky 
Maine* (1985) 
Maryland>> (1982) 
Massachusetts* (1985) 
HICHIGAN>> ( 19 7 8) 
MINNESOTA'' (9/1/86) 
Mississippi (10/1/86) 

WISCONSIN* (1984) 
Wyoming~': 

South Dakota'' (1984) 

Hissouri 
Nebraska* (1985) 
Nevada 
New Hampshire'' (1985) 
New Jersey>> (1983) 
New York (1985) 
New Mexico 
North Carolina (9/1/86) 
North Dakota 
Oklahoma (1983) 
Oregon 
Pennsylvania 
Rhode Island'' (1984) 
South Carolina* (9/14/86) 
Tennessee'' (1984) 
Texas>> (9/1/86) 
Utah 
Vermont* (7/1/86) 
Virginia (9/1/86) 
Washington 
West Virginia~' (7 /1/86) 

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
>>State lowered drinking age between 1971 and 1976. 

**Age goes from 19 to 20 on 9/30/85 and then to 21 on 9/30/86). 
~bb':Passed Legislature, not yet signed by Governor. 




