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THE SALE_OF CIGARETTES TO MINORS IN WISCONSIN,
LEGTSLATIVE HISTORY OF RESTRICTTONS ON

Introduction

In 1955 the statutes prohibiting the sale of tobacce to minors
were repealed as the result of the express recommendations of a
commlttee of the Legislative Councll which studied the c¢hlld welfare
iaws durlng the interim prior to that session. The committee ex-
pressly recommended the repeal of the law,and the blll which imple-
mented 1ts proposal contained such repeal in all published verslors.
The repeal was not an error or overslight, but done intentlonally beo-
cause the law was confusing, conflleting and considersd unsnforceztls,

Some concern was reglstered when peoplée diacovered that the luw
had been repealed., Efforts were made In 1957 to reilnstate the law
which the prior study commlttee descrilbed as confusing, conflleting
and not enforced. No apparent effort was made to look at the prob-
lem critleally or to recognize the changlng times. Long before ths
threat of lung cancer put a momentary lull in the sale of clgareties,
efforts were made to prevent smoklng by mlincers. In faect, from 1005
to 191% the manufacture and sale of cigaretles was prohiblted in
Wisconsin, Yet durlng that decade a futlle but concerted offort was
nade to reduce cigarette smoking among minors because 11 allegedly
affected their health, mentality and moral standards, Then came the
era of advertislng in whilch the famous athlete, man aboutl town,
glamorous lady and famous band leader endorsed clrarettes on blll-
boards, magazine pages, radio and televialon while a few stlll,
pmall volces opposed smoking., Added to this came the vending ma-
chine which has never been wired to detect age. 'The result was that
clzarette smoking Increased each year, and it was not confined to

adults.

It is the purpose of thls report to show the evolution of the
laws relating to clgarette smoking by minors in order that those who
are concerned about that practlce may take a reallstic approach to
the problem of restralnt,

1891 The First Restriction
The orlglnal restrilctlon on the sale of cligarettes to minors in

Wisconsin appears to have been lmposed by Chapter 434, Laws of 1891,
whlch sald:

"No person shall sell or glve to any minor, any clgar,
cigarette or tobacco, when such person has bazen forbildden
by the parent or guardlan of such minor to s=2l1l or glve
the same to such milnor."

The penalty was set at a fine of from $10 to $25., This provi-
sion became sectlon 4608(e) of the statutes under the whole number
designatlions 1ln effect prior to the 1920's.

The 1868 statutes which were the results of a periodic revision
gtated the provision as follows:

"Any person who shall sell or glve to any minor a cigar,
clgarette or other tobacco in any form afitor having been
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forbldden tc so do by the parent or guardisn of such minor
shall be punished by a fine of not more than $25 nor less

than $10,

1897
In 1897 by Chapter 329 the followlng was enacted:

"Any person or persons who shall sell, vend or in any way
deal or traffic in or otherwlse dlspose of or glve away, any
cigarette or cigarette paper In any quantity whatsoever to,
or with a minor under the age of 21, shall be deemed pullty
of a misdemeancr, and on conviction thereof shall be punlshed
therefor by a fine of not less than $5 or more than $25 for
each offense, besldes the cosb of suit, or by Imprisomment in
the county Jail of the proper county not less than 5 days or
more than 30 days; and 1n case of a second or any subsequent
conviction by the same person, the punishment shall be a fine
of not less than $25 or more than $100 besides the costs of
sult or by imprisonment in the county jall of the proper counby
not less than 30 days or more than 3 months; and in cage of
punlishment by flnes, such person shall, unless the fines and
costs be paid forthwlth, be commltted to the county jall of
the proper county until such fine and costs are pald or until
discharged by due course of law."

It became 4608f, 1898 Statutes. Althéugh this provisilon appears to
nullify the effect of 4608e, the latter was not rapealed.

1905 Bale of Cigarettes Prohibilted
In 1905 by Chapter 82, sectlon U4608f of the statutes was in

effect repealed and recreated to prohiblt the manufacture and sale
of cigaretten, clgarette paper or wrappers or substltutes therefor
effective July 1, 1905 except that the prohlbition was not to inter-

fere wlth 1ntrastate commerce.

1907 Fallure of Prohibition on Sale of Cigarettes Tacltly Admitted

In 1907 while the manufacture and sale of cigarettes was 1lllegti.
twn new restraints on the use of tobacco by minors were created by
Chapter 463, The flrst became section 4608v and prohibited the use
or smoking of tobacce, clgarettes or cigars by a person under 16
years in any publlc road, street, alley, park or cother land used for
public purposes or in any public place of business or amusement ex-
cept when sucih minor was in the company of a parent or guardian.
Section 4608w, created by the same law, provided a penality for any
person who permltted the use of tobacco in any form by a minor under
16 years of age in or upon premises occupied by him, .

1911-1913 A
During the perlod from 1911 to 1913 1t was =svident that the pro-

hibltion against the sale of cigarettes was not =ffective. A study
of 164 schools revealed that smoking was a probizm in most of them.
Schools refused to promote or graduate students who smoked, pro-
hibited them from repraesenting the school in centests and stripped
them of scholastlc honors,., Some of the press, tae Wigconsin Educa-
tion Assocliatlon and many educators inecluding President Van Hise <7
the University made substantial efforts to reduce the evil of
cigarette smoking among minors.
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A B.A. thesis submitted at the Universlty of Wisconsin in 1912
by G, H, A, Jenner, entitled "Unenforced Legislation in Wisconsin®”

sald: (pages 43-47)

"The one law in Wisconsin which is violated most openly and
generally throughout the whole state 1s the clgavette law, Thils
law, Section 4608f, provides that any person who shall manufactuuw:,
sell, offer for sale or glve away any cigarette or clgarette paper
shall be guilty of a misdemeanor and shall be punished by a fine of
not less than flve nor more than fifty dollars, or imprisonment for
not less than thirty days or more than six months. At the time thils
law was passed there was a great deal of agltation In the state
against cigarettes and the objJect of the law was To decrease as
much as possible the smoking of them. That the law 1s flagrantly
and openly violated 1s a fact which 1s known to every person in the
state. Immedlately after the law was passed, many places which sold
cilgarettes stopped it, but when they saw that no attempt was made to
enf'orce the law, they all gradually took 1t up again and now there
are as many places selling them as there were before the law was
passed, Most places where they are sold, for some reagon, do not
display them in show cases, but in many places this 1s done and 8¢
far ag I am able to learn, not a single prosecution has taken place

under the law,

"There are several reasons for this failure to enforce the law.
One of them 1ls that the strong anti-clgarette agltatlon has dled
down to a very great extent and it 1s quite lmprobable that another
legislature would ever pass such a law., Agaln, there 1s a great
demand for cigarettes and clgarette papers and lecal officials hesi-
tate to interfere wlth thelr gale on that account, Another reason 1is
the fact that by importing these things from ocutslde the state in
orlglinal packages, one cannot be Interfered with on account of its
belng interstate commerce, and this would make 1t comparativelyessy to
gvade the law if 1t were enforced, so there ls a feeling that thils
would be done and that enforcement of the law would be useless in
preventing clgarette smoking. The most important of these reasons
1s however, the fact that there is a great demand for clgarettes and
that local officials willl not enforce a law in the face of a popular
demand. The law could be enforced 1f the attempt was made to do 1t,
but the object of it would not be accomplished very noticeably, and
1t would not amount to much. This 18 a useless law and should not

be left on the statutes.

"The sale of tobacco 1s further regulated by Section 4608e of
the statutes, providing that any person who shall sell or gilve away
any cigar, clgarette or other tobacco to a mihor shall be punished
by a fine of not less than fifty dollars. The object of this law is
to prevent bhoys getting into the hablt of smoking when 1t 1s likely
to injure thelr health., In splte of the law, however, it 1is safe to
say that a majority of minors at the age of nineteen or twenty have
acquired the hablt of using tobacco, No tobacco man stops to ques-
tion a young man who asks for a package of tobacco whether he is old
encugh to smcke and 1In fact few dealers refuse 1t even to small boys
whom the desaler cannot help knowlng are too young to smoke, This
law 1s one which 1s not enforced because of the sentiment agailnst 1t
beling strong. The majority of men started to smoke before they were
twenty-cne years old and they do not care to see the law which was
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not enforced against them, enforced against thelr gons, The usual
result of 1ndifference or opposition on the part of the community

is seen clearly in thls law - the pollce let 1t go and pay no abten-
tion to it. It would be possible, though very difficult, to enforce
the part of the law concerning the sale of tobacco to minors, -
difficult because of the fact that most minors who buy 1t look au
though they were about twenty-one years old, and 1t leaves the on-
forcement of the law to the dealers and the minors themselves, both
of whom are anxious to violate it, As to the provislon regarding
giving tobacco to minors, that 1a impossible of enforcement. Nelther
the gilvermor the recelver would ever complaln of 1t and nobody else
would know about 1t. Thils law 1s more 1n the nature of a bluff than
anything else becaugse 1t must have been foreseen that 1t would not

be enforced, and the 1dea probably was to dlscourage the sale or
gift of tobacco to minors, As a law, however, 1t is valueless and
might as well not be on the statutes.,"

1913

In 1913 Sectlon 4608v was amended by Chapter 78 to make 1t 1l-
legal for any person to sell or glve any cigar or tobacco to a
minor under 16 years without the written consent of the parent or
guardian, This further confused the problem.

1915 Prohibltion of Manufacturing and Sale of (igarettes Repealed
The 19005 prohibltion of the manufacture and sale of cilgarettes
remalned as law until 1915 when by Chapter 139 the law was dras-
tlcally amended, Sectlon 4608f was changed to prohiblt the sale,
glving away or otherwlae disposing of clgarettes, cilgarette papers
or any substltute therefor to any milnor under 16, The punishment
was set at $25 to $100 for the firast offense and $25 to $200 or
imprisonment for not more than 60 days for subsequent offenses.

The law of 1915, for the first time, contalned a provision
that 1f a minor 1n possession of c¢lgarettes refused to inform a
sheriff, deputy sheriff, pollice officer, vlllage marshal, truant
officer, probation officer or teacher of the aource from whom such
1tems were obtained he was gullty of a mlsdemeanor for which the
penalty was a fine of not more than §5.

The law also required a municipal license to manufacture or
sell clgsrettes.

1919

By Chapter 386, Laws of 1919, the provislon relating to infor-
mation regarding the source of clgarettes possessed by a minor was
amended to provide that 1f a minor misrepresented hils age, he could
be fined up to $25 or imprisoned for not more than 30 days., It also
provided that if such minor was a boy under 17 or a girl under 18
such a minor was to be congidered "a delinguent child under section
573-1" and subject to the provisions of the statutes relating to

juveﬁile courts.

1925
In 1925 by Chapter 4 sections 4608e and 4608f were renumbered
352,49 and 352,50 in accordance with the present decimal system,

- .
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1943 Some Conflicts Resolved
In 1943 by the Revisor's correction bilil, Chapter 177, Sections

352.49, 352.50 and 352,63 were reconciled. Previously 352.40 made
it illegal to sell without permission, and 352.50 made it 1llegal

to sell at all. Chapter 177 made 352.49 apply to all tobacco ex-
cept clgarettes and it also made the provislon of 352,63 relating
to the sale of tobacco to minors under 16 refer only to types of
tobacco other than clgarettes, This resulted from an opinion of

the Attorney General (30 Atty., Gen. 425, 1941) holding that 352,50
was the only provision that applled to cigarettes.

1945
In 1945, by Chapter 26, Section 352.50 (1) and (6) were amended
to raise the age limit from 16 to 18 for the sale of clgarettes to

minors,

1947
We end up then in 1947 after the long series of changes wilth
4 sections dealing with the use of tobacco by minors,

352,49 prohiblted the sale of tobacco in any form except clge-
arettes to any minor after having been forbildden to do so by the

parent or guardian,

352,50 (1) prohibited sale or glving of clgarettes, pager
or substitutes under any circumstances to any minor under 106,

352.50 (2) to (8} deal with licensing of manufacturer and dis-
tributor of clgarettes.

352,50 (5) was & penalty section,

352.50 (6) provided penalties for a minor who refuses to dis=-
close to proper authorities where he got clgarettes and provided
penalties to minor for mlsrepresenting his age 1in order to secure

clgarettes.
352,63 prohlbited sale of tobacco in any form to a minor under

16 without written consent of parent or guardlan and prohlblited use
of any tobacco in public places by minors under 16,

352.64 prohibited a penalty for any person who permitted a minor
under 16 not accompanied by hls parent or guardian to use tobacco in

any form on premises occupled by him.

It will be noted that:

1. Some of the provisions applied to cigarettes, others toc all
tobacco, and others to tobacco other than clgarettes.

2. In some cases the prohibltion ended at 16, in others at 18, am
in others 1t apparently ended at 21. '

3. In one case there was a categorlical prohibiltlion, in another
cagse a prohlbitlion 1f the parents had forbldden the purchasgse elther
crally or in wrilting and 1n gtill another case purchase was permitted
for certain types wlth written consent.

P S
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These complications plus the rise of the vending machine which
cannot determine age, plus the strong merchandlsing campalgns of the
producers which result in an ever-increaslng sale caused some
doubts as tg the effectiveness of the whole program.

It should be noted that it was not until the late 1940's that
the problem of vending machines received any attention. In 1947,
Bi11ll 10, S. would have prohibited the sale of clgarettes by vending
machines. A proposal was made and defeated 1n 1953 by Bill 348, A.
to permit the installation of a clgarette vending machine only in
places where minors under 18 were prohibited by law. Such a prohi-
bitlon 18 possible. Section 93-1-18 of the Utah Statutes (1954)

provides:

"Any person who maintains after June 30, 1941 in his
place of business a tobacco vendlng machlne accessible
to minors or provides any method of self-help for the
disposition to mlnors by gift, sale or otherwlse of any
clgarettes or clgarette paper or wrapper, or any paper
made or prepared for the purpose of making clgarettes,
or tobacco 1n any form whatscever, 1s guilty of a
misdemeanor."

1953 Cigarettes and the New Criminal Code
In 1953 when the Criminal Code wasg first revised the 4 sectlons

relating to ¢igarettes and minors were changed as follows:
352.49 was renumbered 48,60 (1).
352.50 (1) was renumbered 48.60 (2) and amended to read:

"Whoever by himself, his servant or agent, or as the servant
or agent of any other person, directly or indirectly, or upon
any pretense, or by any device, sells, glves away or otherwlse
disposes of to any person under the age of 18 years any cilga-
rettes, cigarette paper or clgarette wrappers, or any substi-
tute therefor, or any paper made or prepared for the purpose
of making clgarettes or any substltute therefor, or for the
purpose of belng fllled with tobacco for smokling shall be
fined not less than $25 nor more than $100."

352,50 (6) was renumbered 48,60 (3).
352.63 was renumbered 48,60 54}.
352.64 was renumbered 48.60 (5

Section 281 of this act known as the Criminal Code, Chapter
623, Laws of 1953, provided that it take effect July 1, 1955, but
a committee was appolnted to review the propesal and to bring in
amendments to the 1955 legislature.

In 1955 when the commlittee reported out the bill they recom-
mended only that section 352.50 (6) be repealed. This was the sec-
tion providing a penalty for a minor who falled to dlsclose to proper
authorities where he obtalned clgarettes found in his possession.

It passed.

-6 -
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Recommendationsg of the Child Welfare Commlttee

Meanwhlle, however, the Child Welfare Commlttee of the lLegla-
lative Councll had prepared a comprehenslve revision of the Chil-
dren's Code and 1t was introduced in 1955 as Bill No, 444, 8, This
bill proposed the repeal of sectlons 352.49, 352.50 (1), 352.63
and 352.64. In & note to sections 352,49 znd 352.50 (1) the com-
mittee sald on page 107:

"These sections...relate to glving clgars, clgarettes and
other forms of tobacco to persons of varying ages /16, 18, or
217 and to the use of cigars, cigerettes and other forms of
tobacco by such persons. These provisions are confusing be-
cauge of the gaps and inconslastencles between them. More im-
portant, they are, for the most part, completely ilgnored.”

This proposal, as Chapter 575, Laws of 1955, was enacted.
Section 31 of the act repealed 352.40 and =%2.50 (1) and Section 33

repealed 352.63 and 352.64,

It should be polnted out that there was nothling lnadvertent
about this., The Children's Code had a note explaining what was Iin-
tended and why.

1957

In 1957, 4 attempts to reinstate a prohibition against the sale
of tobacco and clgarettes to minors were made. The first was 64, 3.
by Senator Busby which was indefinitely postponed 18<10. It made
gale or glft to any one under 18 a milsdemeanor wilth a greater penalty
for clgarettes than other forms of tobacco.

In the asgembly 20, A, prohiblting the sale of cigarettes to
persons under 16 was introduced by Mr, Fricker. It passed the assem-
bly 82-15 but was nonconcurred in by the senate on the last day of
the session. This prohibited sale or gift to persons under 18 of
clgarettes and also penalized a person who negligently permlitted a
minor to secure clgarettes from a vending machine.

75, A, regulating the sale of cigarettes to minors, introduced
by Mr, Wackett, was returned to the author. This proposal, in effect,
restored the prior provisions,

461, A., relating to the sale and use of tobacco by minors was
introduced by Mr. Sussman, It was indefinitely postponed wlthout a
vote. It prohibited sale or gift of ciparettes to a person under 16,
but made it lawful for minors under 16 to buy tobacco other than
cigarettes, with written consent of parents or guardians. It also
prohibited a person from permitting a minor under 16 from smoking on
the owner's premlises unless accompanled by & parent or guardian.

It likewise restored much of the prior language.

In part the gap in the general law made by the repeals of 1955
has been filled by city ordinances. On April 1, 1957 the Common
Council of the City of Milwaukee published Ordinance No, 539 which
prohibits the sale of tobacco in any form to minors under 16 and
Imposes a penalty upon owners of premises who permit minors under 16
to smoke on such premlses unless accompanled by parents or guardians,
Other municipalitles have adopted similar ordinances. Among them are
Nekoosa and Casgsvllle,.
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Appendix 1., Proposals Whilch Were Defeated.

1897 10, A, - Prohibiting manfacture and sale,
537, A. - Relating to sale of.
1809 482, A. - Prohiblting manufacturing and sale of cigarette:.
1901 1, A, -~ Prohibiting sale of cigarettes,
1903 75, 8. = Prohibiting sale or manufacture of clgarettes.
254, 8, - Requiring licenses to sell clgarettes,
204, A, - Prohibiting manufacturing and sale of cigarettes.
1905 31, S, -~ Prohibiting manufacturing and sale.
76, A, ~ Preohiblting sale and manufacture,
1907 915, A. - Prohlbiting smoking in publlc places by anyone.
1909 739, A. ~ Prohibiting use of clgarettes under 18 years or
tobacco under 15,
1915 144, A, - Prohibited hiring teachers who smoke cigarettes or
granting diplioma to any person who smokes clgarettes.
181, A. -~ Relating to sale to minors when forbldden tec do go.
381, A, - Relating to sale to minoras.
431, A. - Relating to sale to minors and increasing penaltiles.
230, 8. - Relating to sale to minors and Increasing penaltles.
1917 186, A, - Prchilblting manufacture or sale of cigarettes.
1927 155, A. - Repealed 352.50 (1) and (6),
1947 10, 8. - Sale by vending machine prohibilted.
1949 597, 8. - Enforcement of cigarette laws glven to c¢rime
laboratory.
1953 348, A, - Installatlon of vending machines only where minors

under 18 are prohibited.




