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COMPULSORY AUTOMOBILE INSURANCE 

I. Introduction 
Since 1920 when the automobile first began to be a social force 

to reckon with, compulsory automobile liability insurance has been 
discussed. Massachusetts was the first state and for a long time the 
only state which had adopted any legislation to require evidence of 
financial responsibility as a prerequisite for obtaining a motor 
vehicle license. The text of this law is incorporated in this study. 

In 1956 New York adopted a law to become effective in February 
1957 providing that before one could receive license plates he must 
furnish proof of insurance or ability to meet a negligence judgment. 
It requires personal liability coverage of $10,000 to $20,000 and 
$5,000 for property damage. 

All the 48 states and the District of Columbia have some form of 
automobile financial responsibility legislation, as have Great Britain, 
Switzerland and the Scandinavian countries. Most of the states have 
a security-type law with the exception of Kansas, Massachusetts, New 
York and South Dakota. The main point of distinction lies in the 
fact that under financial responsibility laws a person is not required 
to give proof of his financial responsibility until after he has had 
an accident or violation. Also, it is impossible under the financial 
responsibility laws to press a claim for damages from a noninsured 
person who causes an accident. 

Wisconsin's financial responsibility law was enacted in 1945. 
The Motor Vehicle Department reported that in 1950 83 or 81.j per cent 
of the vehicles involved in accidents in Wisconsin were insured and 
in 1956 about 82 per cent were covered, vJisconsin has studied the 
possibility of a compulsory automobile liability insurance law since 
the early 1920's, with the first bill having been introduced in the 
1923 legislature. A summary of such bills from 1923-1955 appears at 
the end of this report. 

On the following pages are listed the various arguments pre­
sented by those in favor of and by those against compulsory auto­
mobile insurance. 

II. Arguments For Compulsory Automobile Insurance 
1. A person must present evidence of financial responsibility 

before he is permitted to register his car in Massachusetts, 
not after his first accident, as in most financial respon­
sibility states. 

2. Compensation is assured to all victims of negligent operators 
of motor vehicles. 

3. Accidents have not increased in comparison with increases in 
other states, 

4. It covers 95 per cent of all accidents. 

5. It is exceptional when insurance companies are compelled to 
accept undesirable risks. This is done in the so-called 
"voluntary assigned risk" states, 
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6. Increased litigation has not led to court congestion because 
of pre~trial procedures which encuurage waiving of juries 
and settlements before trial. 

Because Massachusetts motor vehicle owners led the 
nation in 1949 in highway safety, the 1950 individual rates 
on compulsory liability insurance were reduced in amounts 
varying from 30 cents to $6.70, or an aggregate saving of 
$600,000. In 1949 rate reductions aggregated $700,000. 
(New York Times, Sept. 27, 1949) 

7. Many cars are not insured in other states. 

8. The automobile has created a new social problem. Common 
law on negligence is not as applicable to ay~o accidents as 
to other types of accidents. 

III. Arguments Against Compulsory Automobile Insurance 
l. It has increased accidents and has led to laxity and in­

difference in the enforcement of traffic laws . . 
2. It has promoted fraud and racketeering as to claims. 

3. It has not accomplished its advertised objective of providing 
universal 100 per cent security for those with just and 
legal claims. 

4. It has injected politics into the making of insurance rates, 
which are unfair to stock companies, 

5. It has enormously increased litigation and court congestion, 

6. It has compelled insurance companies to accept undesirable 
risks. 

7. No protection from hit-run drivers. (Not in other places 
either) 

8. 

9. 

Increased costs for the driving public. 

Law does not apply to visiting motorist. 
A check of 8 stations in Wisconsin in 1949 revealed that 
during the entire year 18.7% of all motor vehicles were 
from out of the state and during the summer 24.8% were 
from other states. (Data from Highway Commission) 

10. American spirit is opposed to compulsion. 

11. Some, especially insurance companies, fear a trend toward a 
state insurance fund, which they feel is paternalistic and 
socialistic, 

12. Such q plan should be used only against the individual who 
is actually shown to be reckless or careless, as evidenced 
by conviction for certain violations of traffic laws. 

13. The law does not apply on private roads. 
-2-
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14, Only about 18% of the cars involved in accidents in the 
first half of 1956 did not have coverage, This is less 
than the number of foreign cars traveling in the state 
so we have probably reached the saturation point. 

IV. The Basic Provisions of the Massachusetts Law. 
(Annotated Laws of Massachusetts, Chapter 90--Motor Vehicles 
and Aircraft Sections 34A-34J) 

34A. Definitinns.--The following words, as used in sections 
thirty-four A to thirty-four J, inclusive, shall have the following 
lneanings:--

"Certificate'', the certificate of an insurance company author­
ized to issue in the commonwealth a motor vehicle liability policy, 
stating that it has issued to the applicant for registration of a · 
motor vehicle such a policy which covers such motor vehicle, conforms 
to the provisions of section one hundred and thirteen A of chapter 
one hundred and seventy-five and runs for a period at least cotermin­
ous with that of such registration or that it has executed a binder, 
as defined in said section one hundred and thirteen A, under and in 
conformity with said section covering such motor vehicle pending 
the issue of a motor vehicle liability policy; or the certificate 
of a surety company authorized to transact business in tne common­
wealth under section one hundred and five of said chapter one hun­
dred and seventy-five as surety, stating that a motor vehicle lia~ 
btlity bond, payable to the commonwealth, wh:l.:::h covers such motor 
v2hicle, conforms to the provisions of said section one hundred and 
thirteen A, and runs for a period at least coterminous with such 
registration, has been executed by such applicant as principal and 
by such surety company as surety; or the certificate of the state 
treasurer stating that cash or securities have been deposited with 
said treasurer as provided in section thirty-four D. 

''Guest occupant" or "guest occupant of such motor vehicle", any 
pe~son, other than an employee of the owner or registrant of a motor 
vehicle or of a person responsible for its operation with the owner's 
or registrant's express or implied consent, being in or upon, 
entering or leaving the same, except a passenger for hire in the case 
of a motor vehicle registered as a taxicab or otherwise for carrying 
passengers for hire. 

"Motor vehicle", shall, in addition to the meaning prescribed by 
section one, include a trailer, as defined by said section one. 

"Motor vehicle liability bond", a bond conditioned that the 
obligor shall within thirty days after the rendition thereof satisfy 
all judgments rendered against him or against any person responsible 
for the operation of the obligor's motor vehicle with his express 
or implied consent in actions to recover damages for bodily injuries, 
including death at any time resulting therefrom, and judgments 
rendered as aforesaid for consequential damages consisting of expenses 
incurred by a husband, wife, parent or guardian for medical, nursing, 
hospital or surgical services in connection with or on account of 
such bodily injuries or death, sustained during the term of said 
bond by any person, other than a guest occupant of such motor vehicle 
or any employee of the owner or registrant of such vehicle or of such 
other person responsible as aforesaid who is entitled to payments or 
benefits under the provisions of chapter one hundred and fifty-two, 
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and arising out of the ownership, operation, maintenance, control or 
use upon the ways of the commonwealth of such motor vehicle

1 
to the 

amount or limit of at least five thousand dollars on accoun~ of 
injury to or death of any one person, and, subject to such limits 
as respects i:fljU11f to or death of nne- person, of:- at least ten thous­
'1t'l1d dolla:t'B on "account or any une accident re,cmlting in injury to or 
death of more than one person. 

"Motor vehicle liability policy", a policy of liability in­
surance which provides indemnity for or protection to the insured 
and any person responsible for the operation of the insured's motor 
vehicle with his express or implied consent against loss by reason 
of the liability to pay damages to others for bodily injuries, in­
cluding death at any time resulting therefrom, or consequential 
damages consisting of expenses incurred by a husband, wife, parent 
or guardian for medical, nursing, hospital or surgical services in 
connection with or on account of such bodily injuries or death, 
sustained during the term of said policy by any person, other than 
a guest occupant of such motor vehicle or of any employee of the 
owner or registrant of such vehicle or of such other person re­
sponsible as aforesaid who is entitled to payments or benefits under 
the provisions of chapter one hundred and fifty-two, and arising out 
of the ownership, operation, maintenance, control or use upon the 
ways of the commonwealth of such motor vehicle, to the amount or 
limit of at least five thousand dollars on account of injury to or 
death of any one person, and, subject to such limits as respects 
injury to or death of one person, of at least ten thousand dollars 
on account of any one accident resulting in injury to or death of 
more than one person, or a binder as defined in section one hundred 
and thirteen A of said chapter one hundred and seventy-five pro­
viding indemnity or protection as aforesaid pending the issue of 
such a policy, 

34B. Certificates; Acceptance, Form, Copies; Penalties.--The 
registrar shall accept a certificate as defined in section thirty­
four A from any person applying for registration of a motor vehicle, 

Such certificate of an insurance or surety company shall, except 
as hereinafter provided, be in a form prescribed by the commissioner 
of insurance, shall contain the recitals required by said section 
thirty-four A and, if at the time of the execution thereof the 
schedule of premium charges and classifications of risks for the 
year for which registration is sought have been fixed and establish­
ed under section one hundred and thirteen B of chapter one hundred 
and seventy-five shall state the rate at which and the classification 
under which the motor vehicle liability policy or bond referred to 
therein was issued or executed and the amount of the premium thereon 
and whether or not said premium is at the rate fixed and established 
as aforesaid, and each such certificate shall contain such other 
information as said commissioner may require. Such a certificate 
shall be executed in the name of the company by one of its officers, 
or by an employee of the company duly authorized by it by a writing, 
in a form prescribed by said commissioner, filed in the office of 
said commissioner and not theretofore revoked by a writing filed as 
aforesaid, or by an insurance agent of the company licensed under 
chapter one hundred and seventy-five to solicit applications for 
and to negotiate motor vehicle liability policies or bonds, or on 
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Lehalf of such an insurance agent by one of his agents or employees 
authorized by such insurance agent by an unrevoked writing as afore­
said, in form and filed as hereinbelf!Bre provided. The signature of 
the person authorized by any such writing shall be written on the 
margin thereof. No other person shall execute or issue such a 
certificate. Whoever issues or executes a certificate in a form 
other than that prescribed by said commissioner shall be punished by 
a fine of not less than fifty nor more than five hundred dollars. 

The registrar shall, when preparing his record of each regis­
tration, furnish a copy of such record to the company appearing 
signatory to the certificate accompanying the application for such 
registration. 

If such a certificate, whether or not conforming to the fore­
going requirements of this section, is executed in the name of a 
company by a person hereinbefore specified, or is so executed by any 
other person in violation of this section under authorization of the 
company, and is filed with the registrar in connection with the 
registration of a motor vehicle, the company shall be estopped to 
deny the issue or validity of such certificate or that a motor vehicle 
liability policy or bond has in fact been issued or executed as set 
forth in such certificate. 

The certificate which the state treasurer shall issue upon 
receipt of cash or securities under section thirty-four D or thirty­
four F shall be in such form and shall contain such information as 
the reglstrer may prescribe. 

Whoever issues or alters without authority or forges any certifi­
cate as defined in said section thirty-four A or issues such certif~ 
cate knowing that the policy or bond therein described has not in 
fact been issued or executed or is not in force or that the cash or 
securities have not been deposited, or whoever knowing that such 
certificate has been issued or altered without authority or forged 
that the policy or bond described therein has not in fact been issued 
or executed or is not in force or that the cash or securities have 
not been deposited files such certificate with the registrar, shall 
be punished by a fine of not more than one thousand dollars or by 
imprisonment for not more than one year or both. 

34C. Policy or Bond Covering More Than One Motor Vehicle or 
Trailer.--Any person applying for the registration of more than one 
motor vehicle under section two or three, or any manufacturer or 
dealer or repairman applying for registration of motor vehicles 
under section five, may, in lieu of procuring a separate policy or 
bond covering each motor vehicle, furnish a single motor vehicle 
liability policy or bond covering all motor vehicles owned or con­
trolled by him, in Vihich the amounts or limits of indemnity as pro­
vided in section thirty-.four A for a motor vehicle lHtbility policy 
or bond shall apply to each motor vehicle covered thereunder. 

34D. Deposit of Cash, etc., in Lieu of Bond or Policy; Interest; 
Payments upon Executions; Addl tional Deposit. --The appHcant for 
reglstration may, ln lieu of procuring a motor vehicle liability 
bond or policy, deposit with the state treasurer cash in the amount 
of five thousand dollars or bonds, stocks or other evidences of 
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indebtedness satisfactory to said treasurer of a market value of not 
less than five thousand dollars as security for the payment by such 
applicant or by any persnn responsible for the operation of such 
applicant's motor vehicle with his express or implied consent of all 
judgments rendered against such applicant or against such person in 
actions to recover damages for bodily injuries, including death at 
any time resulting therefrom, and judgments rendered as aforesaid for 
consequential damages consisting of expenses incurred by a husband, 
wife, parent or guardian for medical, nursing, hospital or surgical 
services in connection with or on account of such bodily injuries or 
death, sustained during the term of registration by any person, 
other than a guest occupant of such motor vehicle or any employee of 
the owner or ~egistrant of such motor vehicle or of such other person 
responsible as aforesaid who is entitled to payments or benefits 
under the provisions of chapter one hundred and fifty-two, and 
arising out of the ownership, operation, maintenance, control or use 
upon the ways of the commonwealth of such motor vehicle, to the 
amount o~ limit of at least five thousand dollars on account of any 
such judgment. The depositor shall be entitled to the interest 
accruing on his deposit and to the income payable on the securities 
deposited and may from time to time with the consent of the state 
treasurer change such securities. Upon presentation to the state 
treasurer by an officer qualified to serve civil process of an ex­
ecution issued on any such judgment against the registrant or other 
person responsible as aforesaid, said treasurer shall pay, out of the 
cash deposited by the registrant as herein provided, the amount of 
the execution, including costs and inte~est, up to but not in excess 
of five thousand dollars. If the registrant has deposited bonds, 
stocks or other evidences of indebtedness, the state treasurer shall, 
on presentation of an execution as aforesaid, cause the said securi­
ties or such part thereof as may be necessary to satl.sfy the judg­
ment to be sold at public auction, giving the registrant three days' 
notice in writing of the time and place of said sale, and from the 
proceeds of said sale the state treasurer shall, after paying the 
expenses thereof, satisfy the execution as hereinbefore provided 
when a cash deposit has been made. Any payment upon an ·execution 
by the state treasurer in accordance with the provisions of this 
section shall discharge him from all official and personal liability 
whatever to the registrant to the extent of such payment. The 
state treasurer shall, whenever the amount of such deposit from any 
cause falls below the amount required by this section, require, at 
the option of the registrant, the deposit of additional cash or 
securities up to' the amount required by this section or a motor 
vehicle liability bond or policy as provided in this chapter. Money 
or securities deposited with the state treasurer under the provisions 
of this section shall not be subject to attachment or execution 
except as provided in this section. The state treasurer shall de­
posit any cash received under the provisions of this section in a 
savings bank or the savings department of a trust company or of a 
national bank within the commonwealth. 

34E. Receipt for and Retention of Cash, etc. So Deposited.-­
The state treasurer shall give to the applicant for registration a 
receipt on a form prescribed by said treasurer of the amount of cash 
or securities deposited by him with said treasurer under section 
thirty-four D or thirty-four F. The state treasurer shall retain 

-6-



LRL-IB-159 

such cash or securities deposited as aforesaid and shall not deliver 
the same or the balance thereof to the registrant or his order until 
the expiration of the time within which actions, the payment of 
judgments in which are secured by such deposit, may be brought 
against the registrant or the person responsible for the operation 
of the registrant's motor vehicle with his express or implied con~c ' 
sent, nor in any case if a written notice is filed with the state 
treasurer stating that such an action has been brought against the 
registrant or other person responsible as aforesaid, until payment 
is made as provided in section thirty-four D or satisfactory evidence 
is presented to said treasurer that such action is finally disposed 
of. 

· 34F. Notice to Registrar, etc., upon Service of Writ; PenaltYr­
The registrant of a motor vehicle who deposits cash or securities as 
provided in this section or in section thirty-four D or the person 
responsible for the operation of the registrant's motor vehicle with 
his express or implied consent shall irrunediately upon the service of 
any writ or summons in any action the payment of the judgment in 
which is secured by such deposit, give written notice to the regis­
trar and the state treasurer of the bringing of such action in such 
form as the registrar may prescribe, and thereupon the registrar may 
require the giving of a motor vehicle liability bond or policy or 
w~y require the deposit of further cash or securities as additional 
security for the payment of judgments in any other such actions. 
Whoever fails to give the notice required by this section shall be 
punished by a fine of not less than one hundred nor more than one 
thousand dollars or by imprisonment for not more than one year or 
both. 

The state treasurer shall 1'orthwith give written notice to the 
registrar of the failure of a registrant to maintain a deposit as 
required by this section and section thirty-four D. 

34G. Proceedings if Judgment against Principal on Bond is Not 
Satisfied,--If a judgment rendered against the principal on a motor 
vehicle liability bond or against any person responsible for the 
operation of the principal's motor vehicle with his express or im­
plied consent is not satisfied within thirty days after its ren• 
dition, the judgment creditor may for his use and benefit and at his 
sole expense bring an action in the name of the commonwealth against 
the surety company executing the bond. 

34H. Revocation of Registration upon Cancellation of Policy or 
Bond, etc.; Exceptions.--In the event that the registrar receives 
written notice, in conformity with section one hundred and thirteen 
A of chapter one hundred and seventy-five, from the owner of a motor 
vehicle cancelling the motor vehicle liability policy or bond 
covering the same, he shall revoke the registration of such motor 
vehicle on the effective date of the cancellation as specified in 
such notice unless not later than two days prior to such effective 
date the registrar shall have received a new certificate covering 
the same motor vehicle. The registrar shall, forthl'iith upon re­
ceiving written notice in conformity with said section one hundred 
and thlrteen A from an insurance or surety company purporting to 
cancel such a policy or bond issued or exec~ted by it, give written 
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notice to the owner of the motor vehicle covered by said policy or 
bond that the registration thereof will be revoked as of the final 
effective date of the cancellation as specified in the notice given 
by such company in case the owner does not file a complaint under 
section one hundred and thirteen D of said chapter one hundred and 
seventy-five that he is aggrieved by the issue of such notice, or as 
specified in an order of the board of appeal on motor vehicle lia­
'bili ty policies and bonds affirming such cancellation under said 
section one hundred and thirteen D in case the owner does not claim 
an appeal from such order, or as specified in a decree of the super­
ior court or a justice thereof affirming such cancellation on such 
appeal, or as specified in such a decree ordering a cancellation of 
such a policy or bond after its reinstatement by said board of appeal, 
unless not later than two days prior to such effective date as finally 
specified the registrar shall have received a new certificate 
covering the same motor vehicle. 

The registrar shall forthwith upon receipt of a notice under 
section thirty-four F of the failure of the o1mer of a motor vehicle 
to maintain a deposit, or of a notice under section one hundred and 
thirteen C of said chapter one hundred and seventy-five of the 
cessation of the authority of an insurance or surety company to issue 
or execute motor vehicle liability policies or bonds in the common­
wealth, send written notice to the owner of the motor vehicle 
covered by such deposit or to every owner of a motor vehicle covered 
by a motor vehicle liability policy or bond issued or executed by 
such a company that the registration thereof will be revoked, unless 
within f1 ve days after .the sending of said notice he shall file with 
the registrar a new certificate; provided, that if the authority of 
such a company to issue or execute motor vehicle liability policies 
or bonds in the commonwealth ceases by reason of its merger or con­
solidation with another company so, authorized, and it is proved to 
the satisfaction of the commissioner of insurance that the new or 
continuing cmmpany has assumed all the obligations and liabilities of 
such company under any and all such policies and bonds issued by it, 
such notice of the registrar will not be required with respect to 
policies or bonds so issued previous to the date or merger or conso~ 
!dation. 

Upon failure of the owner of a motor vehicle to file a new 
certificate as required by this section, the registrar shall immed­
iately revoke the registration thereof; provided, that if a new 
certificate as aforesaid is filed prior to the final effective date 
of the cancellation of the existing policy or bond, he may in his 
discretion rescind such revocation. 

Any notice required by this section to be given by the regis­
trar shall be deemed sufficient if mailed by the registrar, or any 
person authorized by him to send such notice, postage prepaid, to 
the address given on the application for registration, and an 
affidavit of the registrar or such person that such notice has been 
mailed as aforesaid shall be prima facie evidence thereof. 

The registrar shall, upon receipt of an attested copy of a 
finding and order of said board of appeal, or of a decree of the 
superior court or a justice thereof, ordering the reinstatement rJf a 
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motor vehicle liability policy or bond, forthwith rescind the re­
vocation of the registration of the motor vehicle covered therepy. 

34I. Registrar to Keep Records and Books.--The registrar shall 
keep such records and books and publish and distribute such forms 
and information as will facilitate the operation of the provisions 
of the eight preceding sections, and shall, upon the request of any 
person, furnish the name of the insurance or surety company issuing 
the policy or executing as surety the bond covering any particular 
motor vehicle or of any particular person appearing on his records 
as registrant of the same. 

34J. Penalty for Operating, etc., Motor Vehicle Knowing That 
Policy, etc., Has not been provided, etc.--Whoever operates or permits 
to be operated a motor vehicle which is subject to the provisions of 
section one A during such time as the motor vehicle liability policy 
or bond or deposit required by the provisions of this chapter has 
not been provided and maintained in accordance therewith shall be 
punished by a fine of not less than one hundred nor more than five 
hundred dollars or by imprisonment for not more than one year, 

v. Bills Introduced In the Wisconsin Legislature, 1923-1955* 
Relating to Compulsory Automobile Insurance. 

1923 
206,A. (Pederson)--Provided that-me owner of a motor vehicle should 
submit an affidavit that he had procured $1,000 or more of liability 
insurance before motor vehicle license v.rould be issued, Insurance 
companies should notify Secretary of State of cancellatlon of any 
policy, and thereupon the Secretary of State would revoke motor 
vehicle license. Indef. post. 

256,s. (Titus)--Required owner of motor vehicle to submit a $2,000 
lialDility insurance policy or proof of ownership of $2,000 worth of 
unincumbered property in this state before a motor ve~icle license 
would be issued to him. Indef, Post. 

. 1925 
289,A. (Brooks) --Provided that ~owner of a motor vehicle should 
submit an aff'idavi t that he had procured liability insurance not less 
than $5,000 for one person injured and not less than $10,000 for one 
accident before a motor vehicle license would be issued. Required 
insurance companies to notify Secretary of State of' cancellation of 
policies. Upon notification of' cancellation, the Secretary of' State 
revoked motor vehicle license. Returned to author. 

82, S. (Titus) --same as Bill No. 256,s., 1923 session. In de f. post. 

l82,S. (Padway) --Provided that no vehicle should be registered 
unless the applicant filed with the Secretary of' State a personal 
bond with at least 2 su~eties, a corporate bond or a policy of in­
surance in the sum of $1,000. Nonconcurred in. 

1927 
12l,A. (Gehrmann) --Provided that before a certificate of' regis­
tration was issued the owner of' a motor vehicle must file evidence 
with the Secretary of State that he had procured a motor vehicle 
liability and property damage policy covering the operation of' such 
* No such leg!sla tion was considered by the 193'{ ,194'( and 1949 
legislatures. 
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vehicle, with limits of $5,000 to any one person and $10,000 for any 
one accident in cases of injury to persons and of $1,000 in cases of 
damages to property. Such insurance to be carried with private 
insurance companies. In lieu of insurance a motor vehicle owner 
might file a statement with the Secretary of State establishing that 
he was the owner of at least $10,000 of unincumbered property exempt 
from execution. Indef. post. 

136,A. (Schauer) --Same provisions as Bill }b. 121, A. except that 
insurance required was limited to $1,000 for both injuries to persons 
and injuries to property, and that the amount of unincumbered pro­
perty required to be scheduled to secure exemption from insurance 
was $2,000. Indef. post, 

623,A. (A.J. Miller} --Required all motor vehicle owners to establish 
that they were carrying a personal liability and property damage 
pQlicy, with limits of at least ~5,000 for any one person and $10,000 
for any accident for personal injuries and ~f $1,000 for property 
damage, before applicant could se~ure an automobile license, Such 
insurance to be carried either with private insurance companies, or 
with the state automobile liability fund created in this bill. This 
state automobile liability fund would be a state-owned and state­
operated automobile insurance company. Initial rate of insurance in 
state automobile liability fund, $20 for passenger cars of 2,400 lbs. 
or less, $25 for cars weighing between 2,400 and 4,000 lbs, and $30 
for heavier passenger automobiles, with higher rates for trucks, 
~axis, buses, etc. These initial rates to be raised or lowered after 
f."."st year in accordance with the experience in this state. Indef. 
p-J.st. 

112,S. (Gettelman) --Created a state automobile liability fund with 
which all automob1le owners were required to insure before bein,s 
granted an automobile license. Policies required to have limits of 
$5,000 to any person and $10,000 for any accident for personal in­
juries and of $1,000 fol' property. Fund to be administered and rates 
to be fixed by the Commissioner of Insurance, Indef, post, 

185, s. (Polokot>Iski) --Provided a system of indemnity to persons in 
motor vehicle accidents along the lines of the workmen's compensation 
act, Owners of motor vehicles to insure their liability with state 
fund created by bill, Indef, post, 

1929 
I.J56,A. (Woller) --Provided that"Der"ore a certificate of registration 
would be issued the owner of a motor vehicle must file a $1,000 
liability bond or liability insurance policy with the Secretary of 
State, Provided for revocation of motor vehicle registration if the 
owner's bond or policy expired during the year. Indef. post. 

67,8. (Polakowski) --Similar to Bill No. 185,8., 1927 session. 
rndef. post. 

1931 
169,A. (Slagg} --Required the fiiing of a $2,000 liability bond or 
insurance policy before motor vehicle registration ~10uld be issued. 
Provided for revocation or registration upon expiration of bond or 
policy. Fine of $25 to $100 or imprisonment of 30 days. Indef, post. 
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275,A. (Hilker) --Required a sufficient bond or insurance policy 
(amount to be determined by Secretary of State) to be on file as a 
motor vehicle registration requirement. Revocation of registration 
upon expiration of bond or policy. Fine of $50 to $500 or six 
months. Indef. post. 

31,3, (Polakowski) --Identical to Bill No. 67,S., 1929 session, 

17l,S. (Hall) --Required the filing of a $5,000 bond or liability 
insurance policy for damage to one person and $10,000 bond or 
liability insurance policy for damage in one accident as a require­
ment of motor vehicle registration. Exempted police and fire pro­
tection vehicles of municipalities, Provided for a fine of $50 to 
$100 and imprisonment of 60 days to 6 months, Indef, post, 

Jt. Res. 26,A. (Busby) --Provided for a referndum in April 1932 on 
the question "Shall a law be enacted providing for compulsory 
automobile insurance?" Indef, post. 

1933 
Jt, Res, 94,s. (Shearer) --Created an interim committee composed of 
3 senators and 3 assemblymen to study problem of compulsory auto­
mobile insurance. Passed both houses, Committee reported in 1935, 

1935 
383,A. (Sigman and Olson) --Providea for compulsory automobile lia­
bility insurance. Issuance of motor vehicle registration license 
contingent upon owner submitting to Secretary of State evidence of 
having $1,000 of liability insurance, Indef. post. 

176,s. (Severson) --Identical to Bill No. 383,A. Indef. post. 

1939 
43,A. (Bichler) --Provided that a $2,000 liability bond or insurance 
policy must be filed and maintained lvith the Secretary of State 
before a motor vehicle license should be issued to the owner. Action 
incomplete due to sine die adjournment, 

1941 
322,A. (Bichler) --Required $l,OOIT]Property insurance and $5,000 
and $10,000 personal liability insurance before issuance of motor 
vehicle license. Action incomplete due to sine die adjournment, 

423,A. (Hilker) --No vehicle to be registered unless 
or insurance policy was filed by the owner to cover 
might arise from negligent operation of the vehicle. 
complete due to sine die adjournment. 

1943 

a $2,000 bond 
damages which 
Action in-

27l,S. (Hilker) --Provided for compulsory automobile liability 
insurance. Indef. post, 

216,A. (Feirstein) --Provided for compulsory motor vehicle insurance. 
Indef, post, 

337,A. (Rohan) --Related to motor vehicle financial responsibility 
and required proof for registration, Indef, post. 
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1945 
55, A. (Rundell) --Related to compulsory motor vehicle insurance. 

1951 
328,3. (Schlabach) --No automobire-Ticense to be issued under Chapter 
85 without applicant's proof of coverage by public liability in­
surance in amount not less than $20,000; policy cancellations re­
quired voiding and collection of license; violations to be punished 
by fines, imprisonment, or both. Indef. post. 

343,8. (Gettelman)-No motor vehicle be registered unless and until 
proof of financial responsibility was furnished, Indef, post. 

400,A. (Peterson) --vlith certain exceptions no vehicle to be reg­
istered without filing of bond or insurance policy to cover death, 
injury, and property damage; cancellation of bond or policy would 
lead to cancellation of registration unless new bond or policy was 
filed; violations punished by fines, imprisonment, or both; certain 
risks required to be accepted by designated insurers, with all other 
insurers required to be reinsurers; casualty rates not raised without 
state approval; insurers must accept risks and reinsurance provisions 
of this act, to do business in Wisconsin, Indef. post. 

1953 
50,8. (Legislative Council) -~Extended the safety responsibility law 
to include an impoundment feature •.. Indef. post, 

655,8. (Committee on Legislative Procedure)--Related to a study of 
various aspects of motor vehicle insurance coverage. Became ch, 332, 
Laws of 1953, 

. 1955 
435,A. (Riehle) --Made liability insurance coverage compulsory for 
all vehicle owners. Indef. post. 

596,A. (Romell) --Required compulsory inspection and insurance 
coverage of all motor vehicles. Indef. post. 

J.R 113,3. (Panzer)-Urged insurance commissioner to initiate confer­
ences with insurance companies to establish insurance on all mbtorists. 
Adopted. 
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