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VETERANS EDUCATIONAL, TAX, AND HOUSING BENEFITS
The biennial state budget act, 2005 Wis-

consin Act 25, passed by the legislature and
signed by Governor Jim Doyle on July 25, 2005,
created or expanded a number of educational,
tax, and housing benefits designed to aid the
state’s approximately half-million veterans
and their families.  These provisions, added to
those in current law, constitute among the na-
tion’s most generous packages of benefits for
residents who served in the armed forces.

COLLEGE BENEFITS FOR FAMILY OF
DECEASED OR DISABLED VETERANS

Tuition and fees at any University of Wis-
consin System (UW System) institution or
Technical College will be waived for the resi-
dent spouses, unremarried surviving spouses,
or children of certain deceased or disabled vet-
erans.  The remission of tuition and fees may
be granted for 128 credits or 8 semesters,
“whichever is longer.”  This benefit, available
beginning with the 2005-2006 academic year, is
similar to that granted to the children and
spouses of law enforcement officers, fire fight-
ers, emergency medical technicians, ambu-
lance drivers, and correctional officers killed in
the line of duty.

Surviving Spouses and Children of Vet-
erans Killed on Duty.  For a spouse or child of
a deceased veteran to qualify, the veteran must
be verified by the Wisconsin Department of
Veterans Affairs (DVA) to have served on
active duty under honorable conditions in the
U.S. armed forces, in the national guard, or in
a reserve component of the U.S. armed forces;
must have been a resident of Wisconsin at the
time of entry into that service; and, while a res-
ident of this state, either died on active duty, or,
while a member of the national guard or a
reserve component, died in the line of duty
while on active duty or inactive duty for train-

ing purposes.  (In general, a member of the
armed forces remains a resident of the state
from which he or she entered the service until
changing his or her official state of residence.)

A surviving spouse must use the benefit
within the first 10 years after the death of the
veteran and a child of a deceased veteran must
use the benefit if at least 18 but less than 26
years of age and while a full-time student.

Spouses and Children of Disabled Veter-
ans.  Waivers are available to the spouses or
children of veterans who were residents of
Wisconsin at the time they entered active duty
and who, while a resident of the state, incurred
at least a 30 percent disability rating under fed-
eral rules.  The spouse of a disabled veteran
may use the benefit only during the first 10
years after the veteran received the service-
connected disability rating.  A child may use
the benefit only if at least 18 but less than 26
years of age and while a full-time student.

COLLEGE BENEFITS FOR VETERANS

Eligible veterans may receive waivers of
50 percent of tuition and fees at any UW Sys-
tem institution or technical college.  The bene-
fit may be used for 128 credits or 8 semesters,
“whichever is longer,” beginning with the
2005-2006 academic year.  There is no time
limit within which the benefits must be used,
no cap on household income, and no restric-
tion on educational level (undergraduate or
graduate courses) for which the credits may be
earned.  To qualify, a veteran must be verified
by the DVA to have been a resident of Wiscon-
sin at the time of his or her entry into service,
must be a resident of the state at the time the
benefits will be used, must have served under
honorable conditions, and must meet any of
the following conditions:
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� Served on active duty for two continuous
years or more or the full period of his or her
initial service obligation, whichever is less.

� Served on active duty for at least one qualify-
ing term of service during a specified war
period or in a crisis zone, or is entitled to
receive a specified expeditionary or service
medal.

� Was honorably discharged for a service-con-
nected disability, or for reasons of hardship.

� Was released due to a reduction in the U.S.
armed forces.

Eligibility for Resident Tuition.  Act 25
provides that veterans who were Wisconsin
residents at the time they entered or reentered
active duty may qualify for resident tuition
rates without having to first reestablish Wis-
consin residency by living in the state for 12
consecutive months before enrolling.

PROPERTY TAX CREDIT FOR CERTAIN
VETERANS OR THEIR SPOUSES

Act 25 created a refundable individual
income tax credit equal to the real estate and
personal property taxes paid by certain veter-
ans or their unremarried surviving spouses.
The credit, which applies only to a principal
residence, may first be claimed for taxable
years beginning on January 1, 2005.  It will not
be allowed if a person files a claim in the same
year for the property tax/rent credit, the farm-
land tax relief credit, the homestead credit, or
the farmland preservation credit.  The follow-
ing individuals are eligible to claim the credit:
� Disabled, elderly veterans.  A veteran who

is at least 65 years of age, was a resident of
Wisconsin at the time he or she entered active
duty, served under honorable conditions,
lived in Wisconsin for at least the last 12 con-
secutive months, and has a service-con-
nected disability rating of 100 percent.

� Spouses of veterans killed on duty.  The
spouse of a veteran killed while on active
duty or a member of the national guard or a
reserve component of the armed forces who
died in the line of duty while on active or
inactive duty for training purposes.  The
deceased veteran must have been a resident

of Wisconsin at the time of entry into the
applicable service, and been a resident of the
state at the time of death.

� Spouses of deceased, disabled, elderly
veterans.  The spouse of a veteran who had
served honorably on active duty in the
armed forces, who was a resident of Wiscon-
sin both at the time of entry into the service
and at the time of death, and who had a ser-
vice-connected disability rating of 100 per-
cent.  In addition, the veteran must have been
at least 65 years old at the time of death, or
would have been 65 years old at the end of
the year in which the the death occurred.

HOUSING LOAN PROGRAM

Act 25 made changes to the Veterans Pri-
mary Mortgage Loan Program and the Veter-
ans Home Improvement Loan Program.  It
deleted the $25,000 maximum limit for a home
improvement loan and permitted money from
either program to be used for the purchase,
construction, or improvement of any building
that is used by the veteran as “a residence, ”
instead of only the veteran’s principal place of
residence.  The act also extended eligibility for
loans to residents who completed six continu-
ous years of honorable service in the National
Guard or a reserve component and liberalized
the rules for using program money to refi-
nance existing loans for the purchase,
construction, or improvement of a residence.

FOR MORE INFORMATION
Department of Veterans Affairs.  To

obtain verification of eligibility for educa-
tional benefits, or for questions about the vet-
erans housing loan programs, contact the DVA
at (800) WIS-VETS (947-8387) or 266-1311.

Department of Revenue.  For questions
about the income tax credit call the Income Tax
Customer Service number at (608) 266-2772.

Colleges.  For questions about enrollment
and tuition/fee waivers, contact the individ-
ual campus, the UW System’s Office of Aca-
demic and Student Services at (608) 262-8778,
or the Technical Colleges System Administra-
tion at (608) 266-2449.


