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TELEMARKETING: DO-NOT-CALL LIST

The biennial state budget act (2001 Wisconsin Act 16), passed by the legislature and signed
by Governor Scott McCallum on August 30, 2001, creates a nonsolicitation directory, which
allows residential telephone customers in Wisconsin to register for inclusion on a “do-not-
call” list to avoid contacts by telemarketers. The state-run directory is expected to begin opera-
tions in the first half of 2002.

RESTRICTING TELEPHONE SOLICITATIONS

Under Act 16, telemarketers must register on an annual basis if they hire employees or
contractors to make telephone solicitions to residential customers in Wisconsin for the pur-
pose of selling property, goods, or services. Registration and renewal fees will be determined
by the Department of Agriculture, Trade and Consumer Protection (DATCP), based on the
directory’s cost and the number of telephone lines the solicitor uses for sales calls.

The law, which is applicable to both in-state and out-of-state solicitors, exempts nonprofit
groups, such as political parties and charitable and fraternal organizations. As passed by the
legislature, the bill did not make an exception for nonprofit organizations, but a veto by the
governor created the exemption. Business people who make their own sales calls are also
exempt.

Solicitors covered by the law may not make a sales call to any party listed in the current
nonsolicitation directory. Updated directories will be provided to registrants in electronic for-
mat on a semiannual basis with printed copies available on request. The listing can be distrib-
uted only to registered solicitors, and they are prohibited from selling any of the information.
The directory is exempted from the state’s open records law, and DATCP may not release it
to anyone other than registrants.

Registered solicitors may call persons listed in the directory if the call is made in response
to the telephone customer’s request or if that person is a current client of the person selling the
property, goods, or services. The client exception does not extend to affiliates of the solicitor.

A person who makes a telemarketing call is required to give personal identification and
state the identity of the person or organization that is selling the property, goods, or services
or will be receiving the contribution, donation, grant, or pledge. Although the do-not-call list
is available only to residential customers, the solicitor who makes a telephone solicitation to
a nonresidential customer must, if requested, provide a mailing address so the customer who
does not wish to receive telephone solicitations may contact the solicitor individually to block
further calls.

ENFORCEMENT AND PENALTIES

Telephone solicitors or their employees or contractors who make sales calls in violation
of the law are subject to a $100 forfeiture for each incident. DATCP is required to investigate
alleged violations and may bring legal action for temporary injunctive or other relief. The gov-
ernor used his veto power to: 1) reduce the potential fine from $10,000 to $100 per violation;
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2) eliminate authority for civil lawsuits by customers against noncomplying telemarketers;
and 3) eliminate a supplemental forfeiture of up to $10,000 for making certain prohibited sales
calls to elderly or disabled people. He stated in his veto message that he considered the $10,000
fine excessive and that a $100 forfeiture for each incident would deter frequent violators but
not unduly penalize occasional mistakes.

LISTINGS IN THE DIRECTORY

DATCP will promulgate the administrative rules governing the directory. When the pro-
cedures are in place (as anticipated within the next nine months), state residents will be noti-
fied through the news media about signing up. Residential customers who receive basic local
exchange telephone service are eligible for a do-not-call listing, but those who operate a busi-
ness phone at their residence are not. After initial signup, residential customers must renew
their registrations every two years to remain in the directory. The program, which will be free
to eligible customers, will be funded by the registration fees paid by the telephone solicitors.

RELATED LAWS

Current State Regulations. The DATCP administrative rules formally establishing the
nonsolicitation directory are expected to be in place by mid-2002. In the meantime, existing
state regulations, based on Federal Communications Commission rules promulgated in
response to the Telephone Consumer Protection Act of 1991, provide limited customer protec-
tion from unwanted telephone solicitations. Under these state regulations, customers may
block calls by notifying an individual solicitor that they do not wish to receive any further tele-
phone calls from that particular seller. Unlike the nonsolicitation directory, which applies to
all registered solicitors, sellers must be contacted individually. Wisconsin regulations do not
contain an expiration on do-not-call requests. In addition, the rules prohibit calls before 8 a.m.
or after 9 p.m. without the prior consent of the consumer. These DATCP provisions will con-
tinue to be applicable to nonresidential customers, such as those operating businesses out of
their homes, whose business lines are not covered by Act 16.

Industry Self-regulation. Until the state nonsolicitation directory begins operation, con-
sumers who wish to reduce telemarketing calls may request to be placed on the do-not-call list
offered by the Direct Marketing Association, which operates with the voluntary cooperation
of telemarketers. Customers wishing to sign up for this list may write: Telephone Preference
Service, Direct Marketing Association, P.O. Box 9014, Farmingdale, NY 11735-9014.

FURTHER INFORMATION

For further information, contact the DATCP Bureau of Consumer Protection at (608)
224-4965 or (800) 422-7128. Section 100.52, Wisconsin Statutes, which creates the nonsolicita-
tion directory, can be found in the text of 2001 Wisconsin Act 16 on the Internet at
http://www.legis.state.wi.us/2001/data/acts/0lactl6.pdf



