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SALES TAX REBATE 

1999 Wisconsin Act 10, passed by the legislature in an October special session and signed 
by Governor Tommy Thompson, to take effect November 19, 1999, provides for a one-time 
sales tax rebate for individuals. It also repeals the school property tax and rent credit, and 
reduces the school levy tax credit. Through a veto, the governor deleted the school property 
tax and rent credit, stating that the legislature had not identified specific expenditure reduc­
tions to cover the $410 million shortfall it would create in reduced revenues. 

REBATE ELIGIBILITY 

The Department of Revenue (DOR) has announced it will mail rebate checks by January 
31, 2000, but for security reasons, it will not give a specific mailing date. All Wisconsin resi­
dents who filed a 1998 individual state income tax return or a homestead credit claim will auto­
matically receive the sales tax rebate, if their returns or claims were filed by October 15, 1999. 
Individuals whose spouses were nonresidents and those who were part-year residents are 
also automatically eligible. Rebates for deceased filers will be paid to their estates. 

Wisconsin residents who did not file a return or claim will have to file a separate rebate 
claim with DOR by June 30, 2000. Nomesidents also may be eligible if they file a claim by 
December 20, 1999. 

Residents who were claimed as .a dependent on another person's 1998 federal income tax 
return are eligible only if they had a Wisconsin adjusted gross income of $5,000 or more and 
a state income tax liability in 1998. 

OTHER PROVISIONS 

Act 10 prohibits DOR from considering any adjustments or amendments to 1998 income 
tax returns made after October 15, 1999, in calculating rebates, and the right to the rebate will 
lapse by December 31, 2000, if DOR is unable to locate the individual or if the rebate check is 
not cashed. 

Individuals who owe debts to other state agencies or local governments, delinquent taxes, 
or delinquent child or family support will have their rebates applied to those debts. Any 
remainder will be sent to the individual. 

Act 10 specifies the rebate will not be counted as income in determining eligibility for W-2 
programs. It also directs the Department of Health and Family Services to seek a waiver from 
the federal government to allow Wisconsin to disregard the rebate in determining eligibility 
for medical assistance. To the extent allowed under federal law, state agencies must disregard 
the sales tax rebate in determining eligibility or benefits under federal assistance programs. 

AMOUNT OF REBATE 

The rebate an individual receives will be based on the amount of 1998 Wisconsin adjusted 
gross income and the individual's income fax filing status. Persons who filed a homestead 
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credit claim only and residents who did not file either a 1998 tax return or homestead credit 
claim will receive the minimum amounts, based on their filing status. 

Married couples who filed joint returns may request separate checks for 50% of a joint 
rebate after the check is issued but before it is cashed. 

Nonresidents who file a claim must document consumer sales taxes they paid to Wiscon­
sin in 1998. The amount must be at least $20, and the rebate will be calculated at 30.4% of the 
amount up to a maximum rebate of $267. 

Married Filing Jointly 

AMOUNT OF REBATE 

Single, Head-of-Household and 
Married Filing Separately 

Wisconsin Adjusted Gross 
Income Rebate 

Wisconsin Adjusted Gross 
Income Rebate 

$25,000 and under 
25,001to50,000 
50,001to75,000 
75 ,001 to 100 ,000 
100,001 to 200,000 
200,001 to 500,000 
500,001 and over 

TAX IMPACT OF REBATE 

$360 
368 
385 
405 
442 
487 
534 

$25,000 and under 
25,001 to 37,500 
37,501to50,000 
50,001 to 100,000 
100 ,001 to 250 ,000 
250,001 and over 

$184 
193 
203 
221 
244 
267 

Since state sales taxes are not deductible for federal income tax purposes, no federal tax 
is owed for refunds of sales tax payments. Based on the experiences of Colorado and Minne­
sota in providing sales tax rebates, DOR will not issue a federal informational return for the 
Wisconsin rebate. 

FOR FURTHER INFORMATION 

Taxpayers who did not file a 1998 return or homestead credit and nomesidents may obtain 
application forms from the Department of Revenue by calling ( 608) 266-2772 or ( 608) 267-9420, 
from the Madison area, or (877) 973-2283 toll-free outside the Madison area. Forms may be 
downloaded from the Internet at http:/ /www.dor.state.wi.us/ise/rebforms.html. The 
department's website also includes more detailed information about who qualifies, and it 
answers frequently asked questions. Persons who qualify for an automatic rebate and do not 
receive their checks by January 31, 2000, should contact the Department of Revenue at 
rebate@dor.state.wi.us or at P.O. Box 8937, Madison, WI 53708-8937. 

Copies of Act 10 may be obtained from the Legislative Reference Bureau at ( 608) 266-0342, 
or on the Internet at http:/ /www.legis.state.wi.us/billtext/ acts/99acts.html. 
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