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CHANGES IN WISCONSIN'S DRUNK DRIVING LAWS 

The 1997 Wisconsin Legislature enacted a number of changes to the laws regarding 
operating a motor vehicle while under the influence (OWI) of an intoxicant, controlled 
substance or other drug. The table of penalties on the reverse of this sheet, prepared by the 
Wisconsin Department of Transportation, summarizes OWI laws, as of January 1, 1999. 

NEW AND INCREASED PENALTIES AND RESTRICTIONS 

Effective January 1, 1999. 1997 Wisconsin Act 237 increased the maximum possible 
incarceration for a 5th OWI conviction from one year to five years, making it a felony. 

Effective July 4, 1998. 1997 Wisconsin Act 338 increased an OWI homicide charge from 
a Class C to a Class B felony, which extends the maximum prison term from 10 years to 40 
years. 

Effective July 1, 1998. 1997 Wisconsin Act 295 included an unborn child in the category 
of penalties for an OWI violation resulting in death or injury to children under age 16. 

Effective October 14, 1997. 1997 Wisconsin Act 27 changed the age for the "absolute 
sobriety" law from under age 19 to the current legal drinking age of 21. Persons under 21 can 
be charged for driving with any measurable blood alcohol content over 0.0% but not more than 
0.1 %. (At 0.1 % the person could be charged with an OWI offense.) 

COUNTING PRIOR CONVICTIONS 

Prior to January 1, 1999, conviction records were maintained for 10 years, based on the 
date of the violation or refusal to be tested. Penalties for 2nd convictions were calculated on 
a 5-year period only, but penalties for 3rd and subsequent convictions covered the entire 
10-year period. Effective January 1, 1999, Act 237 extended the period for counting 2nd 
convictions to 10 years and the period for calculating 3rd and subsequent OWI convictions to 
the driver's entire record. Recordkeeping was extended correspondingly, as next described. 

PERMANENT RECORDS 

Act 237 required that, beginning with violations dated January 1, 1989, records must be 
maintained permanently if a person has two or more suspensions, revocations or convictions 
within a 10-year period. (In the past, OWI convictions records generally were "wiped clean" 
after a maximum of 10 years with no violations.) The new law states that a record "shall be 
maintained for 10 years, except that if there are two or more suspensions, revocations or 
convictions within any 10-year period, the record shall be maintained permanently." 
Question has arisen as to whether the phrase "maintained for 10 years" refers to a precise 
number or a minimum time limit. The Wisconsin Department of Transportation has indicated 
that, until that point is resolved, it will maintain records for all OWI violations that occur after 
January 1, 1989. This means records also continue to be maintained for persons with only one 
violation within a 10-year period. (It is not clear what effect this will have in calculating 
subsequent offenses after the 10-year period following the first offense.) 

Prepared by Robert Paolino, Legislative Analyst 
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OWi AND RELATED ALCOHOL PENAL TIES ·Effective January 1, 1999 

Conviction Fine or Fotfelture 

OWi, Fin.I SIS0.$300' 
(346.63(1Xa)(b)J {346.65(2Xa)J 
(Per sc AC . JO) (plw $340 surcharge) 

{346.655] 

OWl, Second $300.$1,0007 

(Within 10 year.1)1 (plll.'i $340 surdwge) 
(Per sc AC .I 0) {l46.65(2)()>)] 

OWI, Third $600-$2,0007 
(Within lifctimc)1 (plus $340 surcharge) 
(Per se AC .08) [346.65(2Xc)J 

OWI, Fourth $600.$2,0007 

(Within lifclim.e)1 (plus $340 surcharge) 
(Per sc AC .08) {346.65(2Xd)J 

OWi, Fifth or more S600-$2,000' 
(Wll:hinlifctime)1 

(plw S340 '"""""') 
(Pc:r se AC .08) [346 65(2XcJJ 

Causing Injury $300.12,<XXJ' 
Whil"OWI (plus $340 &urchargc) 
[346.63(2Xoll [346.65(3)] 

Cat1$in@; Great Up to $10,0001 
Bodily Harm by owru (plU.'1 $340 surclwgc) 
{940.25(1)} [939.50(3XdlJ 

Homicide While Owr'•B Up to $10,0001 
(940.09(1)1 {pl1n $340 surcharge) 

[939.,0(J)(b)] 

Chemical Test Rcfu:ial. 
(Fint) 
[34l.305(10)(b)2] 

Chmrical Test Refilsal 
(Second) (\Vithin IO ycm) 
{34l305(10)(b)3] 

Chemical Test Refusal 
(Third) (Within lifetime) 
{343.30S(JOXb)4] 

Adrninislralivc Suapmsion 
for Prohibited Alcohol 
Concenlration 
(343.305(7)] 

Absolute Sobriety $98.30 (Forfoitwc 
(If under age 21) ""'"""~ [346.63(2rn)] [346.65(lq)] 

Open Container $209.00 (Forfeiture 
(Driver) andcf)Sl.s.'j [346.935[ 

[346.95(2rn)} 

Open Container $147.50 (I•orfeiturc 

(P""""") and costs'f [346.9351 
[346.9S(2rn)J 

J,u 

S days lo 6 months7 
[l46.65(2)(b)] 

30 days !o I yCM7 
{346.65(2Xo)J 

60 days to 1 ycar1 

{346.65(2Xd)J 

6 months lo S ye3ftl.1 
{346.65(2XcJJ 

30 days to I year 
(346.65(3)] . 

Up to S ye;irs1 

imprisonment 
[939.SO(JXdll 

Up lo 40 ycar.1.1 
impruonment 
(939.SO(J)(b)] 

SwpuWonor 
Rft'OeAtlun 

6-9 month .s.~ion7 

{343.30(Jq)(b)2] 

12-18month1evoci11ion1 

[343.30(lq)(b)3] 

2-3 year rcvocation7 

{343.30(lq)(b)4] 
Vehicle must be 

immobilized oc equipped 
with IID or may be seized 

{346.65(6X•)l] 

2-3 year revocation7 

[343.30(lq)(b)4] 
Vehicle sei..N if owned by 

offmdc:r [346.65(6Xa)2) 

2-3 year rcvocatimY 
{343.JO(lq)(b)4] 

Vehicle seized if owned by 
offender {346.65(6Xa)2] 

1-2 year rcvocll1ion1 

!343.31(3X•ll 

2 year revo<:ation1 

[343.31(3Xij] 

5 year revocation' 
{343.31(3Xo)J 

I year revocation' 
[(343.305(10)()>)2] 

2 year rcvooatiori' 
{J43.305(10)(b)3] 

3 year rcvocation1 

(343.305(10)(b)4] 

6 month suspmsion 
[343.305(7X•ll 

3 month Suspcn.!ion6 
[343.JO(lp)] 

Immediately 
[34330(lq)(b)2] 

Aflc:r 60 daysl ml l 

[343.30(lq)(b)3] 

After 90 da)'lll ....i 3 

{34l30(lq)(b)4] 

After 90 days2. ...:t 3 

[343.30(lq)(b)4] 

After 90 da.ys1 1Qt) 

{343.JO(lq)(b)4] 

After 60 days 
[343.31(3m)(b)] 

Afu:r 120 days 
(343.31(3mX•ll 

After 120 days 
(343.31(lmXa)] 

After 30 days 
[(343.305(10)(b )2] 

After 90 daysl 
[343.305(10)(b)3] 

After 120 day:>) 
[343.305(10)(b)4] 

Immediately 
[343_305(8Xd)} 

Immodialely 
(346.63(2m)J 

LB-99-1 

Aues.sment Polnts 

YES 6 

YES 6 

YES 6 

YES 6 

YES 6 

YES 6 

YES 0 

YES 0 

YES 0 

YES 0 

YES 0 

NO 0 

NO 0 

1The JO-year and lifetime periods are meamrcd from lhe date ofre&sal or violation that resulted in conviction [346.65(2c)J. Offenses occwring prior to l/1/89 nuy not be OOWlted_ [1997 
W'is. Ad 237 • s. 9348(2£)]. 
2Absolute sobriety i:J mandalmy for an occupational license for persons with 2 or more suspensions, revocations or convictions. [343.307(1), 34l 10(5XaX2)} 
1P~ with 2 or more suspemiom, revocation! or convictions oounted under 343.307(1), musl complete aMCSSment and be in conpliance with a driver safety plan to be eligible for an 
occupal.ional licmsc, [343.30(lqXb)3, 34ll0(2Xc)] 
4Ifrepeat offender, OJW1: may immobilize, equip with an igniticn interlock device (HD) or seize vehicle. (940.09(1d). 940.2S(ld)] 
5This rcprcsents the deposit fa- theow offenses as set forth in the Uniform i;itatc Traffic Deposit Schedulo, 1998 edition 
6.Al:oolu!c sobriety~~ results in a 6 month rcvooition and cannot be com.led ;u priOI:l. [343.305(IOXcrn)] 
'Fines, forfeitures, jail and revocation/su.'lpemion penalties are doubled for 11 person convicted ofOWI when a pcrron under 16 )Cal1I' of ;ge w~ in the vehicle at the tune of the offense. 
[346.6S(2Xfj ""'(2jXdJ, 343.JO(lq)(b)4m. 34l305(10)()>)4mJ 
~1997 Wis Acl 295, created new offenses of ca\ISing ®ath or great bodily harm to Uflbom children by OWI and do~lc:i the penal ti a if an unborn child ill in the vehfole at the tune the driver 
committed the offense of cawing death or great bodi!Y, harm by OWi. 
Source: WWX>T [As of lll/99] 


