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LICENSING OF MIDWIVES 
2005 Wisconsin Act 292, passed by the leg­

islature and signed by Governor Jim Doyle on 
April 10, 2006, regulates the practice and 
licensing of lay midwives in Wisconsin. Wis­
consin has not regulated the activities of lay 
midwives since 1953. Midwives generally 
attend at-home births and may receive train­
ing in a variety of ways. Nurse-midwives, 
who have been recognized under Wisconsin 
law since 1980, are registered nurses and oper­
ate within the medical profession. Act 292 
creates a category of "licensed midwives" that 
requires certified training. 

2005 WISCONSIN ACT 292 

Act 292 defines the "practice of mid­
wifery" to mean providing maternity care dur­
ing the antepartum (before childbirth), intra­
partum (during labor and delivery), and 
postpartum (after childbirth) periods. A 
"licensed midwife"means a person who has 
been granted a license under Subchapter XI of 
Chapter 440, Wisconsin Statutes. Licensed 
midwives will be regulated by the Department 
of Regulation and Licensing (DRL). 

The department may grant a midwife 
license to a person if that person submits an 
application on a form provided by DRL, pays 
the initial credential fee of $53, and submits 
satisfactory evidence of holding either a valid 
certified professional midwife credential from 
the North American Registry of Midwives or 
a valid certified nurse-midwife credential 
from the American College of Nurse Mid­
wives. The renewal date for midwife licenses 
is July 1 of each even-numbered year, with a 
$56 credential renewal fee. 

Administrative Rules. The Department 
of Regulation and Licensing is directed to 
adopt administrative rules for midwives con­
sistent with the standards of the National 
Association of Certified Professional Mid­
wives. These rules shall allow a licensed mid­
wife to administer oxygen during his or her 
practice, and may allow a midwife to adminis­
ter oxytocin (Pitocin) as an agent to treat heavy 
bleeding. after birth, intravenous fluids, vita­
min K to control blood clotting, eye prophylac­
tics to ward off infections, and other drugs or 
procedures. 

Act 292 provides that the administrative 
rules may not require a licensed midwife to 
have a nursing degree; require him or her to 
practice under the supervision of, or enter into 
an agreement with, another health care pro­
vider; limit the location where he or she may 
practice; nor permit a midwife to use forceps 
or vacuum extraction. 

Informed Consent. Under Act 292, a 
licensed midwife is required to provide his or 
her client with certain information, orally and 
in writing, at the initial consultation. That 
information includes the midwife's experi­
ence and training, whether he or she has mal­
practice insurance and its policy limits, a plan 
for medical emergencies designed specifically 
for the client, and any other information that 
DRL rules may require. 

Advisory Committee. Act 292 also 
includes provisions fora committee to advise 
DRL on matters relating to midwife regula­
tions. The act states that the committee must 
consist of two members who are licensed mid­
wives, a licensed nurse-midwife who practices 
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outside of a hospital setting, a physician spe­
cializing in obstetrics and gynecology, and a 
public member who has received midwife care 
outside of a hospital setting. 

Discipline and penalties. The Depart­
ment of Regulation and Licensing may con­
duct investigations and invoke penalties in the 
case of violations. Violations of the law 
include: lying on an initial or renewal applica­
tion for a license; practicing while impaired by 
alcohol or drugs; false advertising; misrepre­
senting oneself to a client; evidencing the 
inability to apply principles and skills of the 
practice; using fraud or deceit to obtain com­
pensation; and allowing another person to use 
his or her license. The department has the 
power to reprimand a midwife or deny, limit, 
suspend, or revoke a license. 

No one may use the term "licensed mid­
wife" or represent himself or herself as such 
unless they are granted a license by DRL or 
have a nurse-midwife license. Anyone who 
violates this provision may be fined not more 
than $250, imprisoned not more than 3 
months, or both. 

PRIOR REGULATION 

Midwifery has a long history of lay prac­
tice, and has been the subject of Wisconsin leg­
islation since the late nineteenth century. 
Chapter 528, Laws of 1909, created statutes 
requiring midwives to register under the state 
board of medical examiners. Midwifery was 
regulated under its own chapter in the Wiscon­
sin Statutes from 1923 until 1953, when that 
chapter was repealed. The repeal was due to 
the board of medical examiners receiving no 
applications for examination or registration 
for the designation of midwife "for many 
years". Chapter 103, Laws of 1953, provided 
that those who had received a license before 
1953 could still practice under the old laws. 

An opinion was issued by the Wisconsin 
Attorney General in May of 1955 that the prac-
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tice of midwifery amounted to practicing med­
icine without a license. It was noted that for 
prosecution of such a case to be successful, one 
would have to prove· that the midwife was 
compensated for his or her services. 

NURSE-MIDWIVES 

Nurse-midwives must be licensed regis­
tered nurses and conduct their practice in col­
laboration with a physician. They are regu­
lated by the Board of Nursing under Section 
441.15, Wisconsin Statutes. They are not 
allowed to practice outside of a health care 
facility and must carry malpractice insurance. 
Nurse-midwives are considered rnidlevel 
practitioners of medicine, a category of profes­
sionals created to improve access to health care 
during the decline in the number of general 
practitioners in the latter half of the twentieth 
century. Chapter 317, Laws of 1979, indicated 
that the legislative intent in certifying nurse­
midwives was to provide cost savings to 
patients who chose not to use the services of 
physicians. Act 292 allows nurse-midwives to 
also become "licensed midwives" under DRL. 

COSTS TO THE STATE 

A fiscal estimate by DRL created for Sen­
ate Bill 477, which became Act 292, noted that 
one-time costs to implement the new licensing 
program would be $12,280, while annual costs 
would equal $23,788. The estimate also 
assumed 50 people would seek midwife 
licenses, generating biennial revenues of 
$2,800. 

EFFECTIVE DATE 

2005 Wisconsin Act 292 is generally effec­
tive May 1, 2007. Sections relating to the advi­
sory committee took effect April 21, 2006. 

FOR FURTHER INFORMATION 

View a copy of 2005 Wisconsin Act 292 at 
www.legis.state.wi.us/2005 /data/ acts I 
05Act292.pdf 


