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ANALYSIS OF THE FAMILY CODESESTARLISHMENT AND TERMINATION OF MARRIAGES TN WISCONSIN*

HIGHLIGHTS -- Wisconsin's Marriage and Divorce Laws were Drastically Bevised in
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1959, These are the Salient Features Teday:

ACE, Men over 21 and women over 18 may marry without consent. Those over 18
and 16, respectively, may marry with consent,

PROHIBITED GROUPS, Married persons, persons divorced within one year, persons
within prohibited degrees of consanguinity, and certain mentally defective
persons may not marry.

LICENSES, $35 plus notary fees from the county clerk of the county in which
either party resides, or if neither resides in Wisconsin, in the county in
whiech the marriage is to take place,

WATTING PERIOD, TFive days must elapse between the application and the issuance
of the license; license 18 good for 30 days. The waiting period may be waived
by a judge of a court of record under certain circumstances if one of the par-
ties has resided in this state for at least 30 days,

PHYSICAL EXAMINATION, Both parties must submit to a physical examination for
venereal disease and submit to a Wassermann test within 20 days of the date of
application. HNo person in an infective or communicable stage of such disease
may be granted a license to marry,

WHO MAY SOLEMNIZE. Any judge of a court of record; any ordained clergyman; &
licentiate of any denomlnational body or an appointee of any bishop; the 2 par-
ties themselves, in accordance with the rules of their religious denomination,

WITNESSES, Two are required,

ANNULMENT. An annulment destroys the existence of 2 vold or voidable marriage,
ard may be granted by a family court branch of circuit or county court for such
things as impotence, consanguinity, existing marriage, fraud, force, insanity
or under age.

DIVORCE AND SEPARATION PERMITTED. DBoth divorce and lepal separation are per-
mitted,

GROUNDS FCR DIVORCE OR SEPARATION, One year wilful desertion, cruel and in-
human treatment, one year as an habitual drunkard, adultery, 3 years' im.
prisonment and 5 years' voluntary separation are grourds for divorce or legal

separation,

RESIDENCE, Wo requirements for marriage; rather rigid ones for divorce,
CUSTODY AND ALIMONY, Care and custody of children and granting of alimony are
within the discretion of the court. The custody of children may be granted to
either or neither party. Only the wife is granted alimony,

BREACH OF PROMISE, No suit may be brought for breach of promise,

*This is a revised edition of a publication issued in 1956 (IB.153).
Revised by Michael Vaughan, Bill Draftsman,
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ANALYSIS OF THE FAMILY CODE:ESTABLISHMENT AND TERMINATION
OF MARRIAGES IN WISCONSIN

MARRIAGE

So you want to get marrled. When you have found the right mate
and want to get married, the state becomes a third party to your msr-
rilage because there are laws which set forth the requirements for a
marrlage license and which govern the marriage ceremony. The follow-
ing 18 a chronologlcal outline of the procedure and the laws based
primarily on the law as reviged 1in 1959 by Chapter 595 which was the
product of an interim study by the Interim Committee on Famlly law,

I. What is Marrlage?

Marrlage, so far as 1ts vallidity iIn law 1s concerned, ls a clvil
contract, to which the consent of the parties capable in law of con-
tracting i1s essential. (Sec, 245,01, 1961 Wis, Statutea) A marriage
contract differs from ordinary contracts, in that 1t cannot be modi-
flied or abrogated by the partlies themselves and once entered into, a
valld marriage contract continues until changed by legal proceedings
or by the death of one of the parties. (Estate of Campbell, 260 Wis,
625) There must be an agreement between the partles that they will
hold toward each other the relatlion of husband and wife, otherwlse
there can be no lawful marriage, (Wllllams v. Willilams, 46 wig., H64)
The 8tate Constitutlon prohiblts the Legislature from dissolving a
specific marriage by divorce (Article IV, Sectlon 24),

II. ¥Who may Marry?

If otherwise competent, every man over the age of 18 and every
woman over the age of 16 may marry,., (Sec, 245.02) Men between the
ages of 18 and 21 and women between the ages of 16 and 18 need thelr
parents' or guardlans' consent, The common law ages for marrlages
was 14 for men and 12 for women., Sectlon 245,02 abrogates the common
law rule as to ages of consent, (Ellot v, Ellot, 77 Wis, 634)

III., Who may not Marry?

A, Persons having a 1living husband or wife., (Sec. 245,03)

B. Dlvorced persons wlthln one year after judgment of divorce
is granted., (Sec, 245.03)

C. Persons who are nearer of kin than second cousins, except
that first cousins may marry when the woman 18 55 years of age or
older, Sec. 245,03} A man who marries the daughter of his first
cousin viplates thls sectlon, and both may be prosecuted for incest
1f they live together in this state, (5 OAG 227; 12 0AG 12)

Note: The pertinent statutes, opinions and court decislons are cited
in the text in parentheses,
"S?C'Z §efers to a particular section of the Wisconsin Statutes
1961}.
"0AG" means oplnlons of the Attorney General,
"Wis." means the Wisconsin Reports, official compllation of
Wisconsin Supreme Court declslons.
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D. Any person having such want of understanding as renders him
incapable of assenting to marriage whether by reason of lnsanity,
idiocy or other causes. (Sec. 245,03)

IV, Marrilage Licenses

A, Application

The license may be obtained from the county clerk of the county
in which one of the parties has resided for 30 days, If neither
party ls a2 resident of Wisconsln, the license must be cobtained in the
county in which the ceremony will be performed. (Sec. 245,05} An
applicatiocon for a marriage license must be made at least 5 days before
a license may be 1ssued. This 5-day wailting perlod between appllica- |
tion and issuance of the license may be walved. Any Judge of a court
of record may grant speclal dispensation by ordering the lssuance of
a license before the explration of the § days 1f any of the following

facts exists,

1. If eilther of the parties to the proposed marrlage is danger-
ously 111 and such 1llness 1s likely to result in death,

2, 1If the female 1s pregnant,

3. If elther party is in military service.

4, Other circumstances which the Jjudge deems warrant special
dispensation.
The person applying for dispensation must be & resident of the state
for at least 30 days prior to making such application. (Sec. 245.08)

B. JIdentification of parties and qualifications

Each party applying for a marriage llicense must be ldentified.
The appllcation must be swern to under oath and contain the names of
the partles; thelr relationship; place and date- of birth; naticnality;
race; residence and occcupation; the names of thelr parents and guard-
jans; any prior marrisge of elther party and the date on which and J
manner in which such prior marrlage was dissolved; the names, ages '
and residence of any minor children of such previous marriage; the
names of former spouses; the date the marriage 1s intended to take
place and a statement that the contemplated marriage will be lawful.
Persons under 30 shall submlt blrth certifilcates and all perscns shall
submlt coples of all documents affecting the marital status, (Sec.

245,09) ‘

Ticenses shall be issued to previously married persons only wlth
the judge's consent {See, 245.09) and, where an applicant 1s under
obligation to support chlldren of & previous marrlage not 1n hils
custody, the Judge shall permilt lssuance of a license only 1f he
determines that such chlldren are not 1likely to become publlc charges,

(Sec. 245.10)
¢, Physical examlnations (Sec, 245,08)

Any person applylng for a marrlage license must bring with him
and present to the county clerk when making application a report of a
licensed physician stating that the applicant 1s free from venereal
diseases 88 nearly as can be determined by a thorough examinatlon,
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In addition both parties must, within 20 days before meking thelr
application, submit to and be given the Wassermann or other standard
blood test for asyphllls, These certificates must be filed with the
county clerk when making the applicatich for the marriage license,

No person who 1s in the Inflective or comminlcable state of a
venereal dlsease shall be granted a marrilage 1litense, (Sec, 245,07)

D. Objections to the marriage license

After the parties have applled for thelr marriage license the
county clerk musat post In his offlice a notice gilving the names and
resldences of the parties applying for the license and the date of
the application. Any parent, guardlan, grandparent, chlld or guard-
lan thereof, brother or sister of either applicant or the District
Attorney who believes that the statements on the application are
false or 1insufficlent or that the applicants are incompetent to marry
may file a petlition with the court under ocath, setting forth the
grounds of thelr obJection. If upon a hearing the judge finds that
the statements in the applicatlion are willfully false or insufflclent
or that either party is not competent in law to marry, the court shall
meke an order refuzlng the 1ssuance of a license, Inadvertent mis-
takes may be rectified, (Sec, 245.11) If there are no defects or
objections to the application, the county clerk must lssue a license,

(Sec, 245.12)
E. Penalties for false atatements

Any person who wilfully swears to false statements in obtalning
a marriage llcense, or 1in objecting to a marriage, 1s subject to a
fine of not less than $100 nor more than $1,000 or imprisonment for
not more than 1 year or both, (Sec. 245,30 (2) (a})

F. Unlawful lssuance of license

Any county clerk who knowlngly issuves a marriage llcense con-
trary to the famlly code 1s subject to fine and imprisonment or both,

(sec. 245,30 (2) (b))

V. Marrlage Ceremony

A, Contents of the llcense

The license authorlzes the performance of the marrlage ceremony
in any county of the state, except when both partles are nonresidents
of the state, the ceremony shall be performed only in the county 1in
whlch the license 1s lssued. The license shall be directed to any
person authorized by the law of this state to solemnize marriage and
must be solemnized within 30 days of the lssuance of the license,

(Sec. 245.12)
B. Who may solemnlze a marriage?

1. Any Judge of a court of record; and any ordalned clergyman of
any rellglous soclety who contlnues to be an ordained clergyman,
(Sec., 245.16) Any ordained minister may perform & marrlage ceremony
even though he 1s not 1n the active charge of a parish of a church,

-3
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{4 OAG 978) One who assumes the position of minister of the Gospel,
but who has not been ordained or appointed by denominational or non-
deno§%n?tienal group 1s not authorlzed to solemnize marriages. (27
QAG 460

2. Any licentlate of a denominational body or an appointee of
any bishop, while serving as the regular clergyman of any church of
the denomination to which he belongs provided he is not restrained
from doing so by the discipline of his denomination. (Sec, 245,16)

3. The 2 parties themselves, 1n accordance with the practices
of any religlous soclety to which either of them belongs, (Sec.

245,16)
¢. Authorlity to solemnlize marriages

1. Clergymen, licentlates and appolntees, before they can
solemnize a marrlage, must flle a copy of thelr credentials of ordi-
nation, license or appointment or other proof of such official char-
acter with the clerk of c¢ircult court of the county in which the
church of thelir ministry is located and the clerk shall record the
credentials and glve him a certificate. (Sec, 245.17) Certificate
of authorlity to solemnize marrlages may not be lssued by the clerk of
the circult court under this section to a member of a nondenomina-
tional rellgious soclety who purportedly was deslgnated by elders
thereof as bishop for the purpose of performing merriages., (37 OAG

449)
D. Penaltles for unlawful solemnizatlon

If any person who is authorized to solemnize a marriage does so
when the partles have not obtained a license, or the partlies do not
declare that they take each other as husband and wife, or there are
not 2 competent witnesses, or no parental consent was given for the
parties under age, or the marrilage 1s solemnized more than 30 days
after the lssuance of the license, he 1s subject to fine and imprison-

ment or both. {Sec. 245,30 (3) (a))

E. Witnesses

No marrlage 1s valld unless performed by & person authorized to
solemnize marrlages and must be witnessed before 2 competent wite-
nesses with both partles declaring before the wltnesses that they take
each other as husband and wife. (Sec. 2U45,16)

F, Flling of the marriage certiflcate

The origlinal marriage certificate must be completed by the per-
gon authorlgzed to perform the marriage and filed with the register of
deeds of the county or the city health officer in which the marriage
was performed within 3 days after the date of the marriage, (Sec.
245.19) Fallure to file the certificate within 3 days constitutes

grounds for fine. {Sec. 245,30)
VI. Other Provisions

A, Marriage of Wlsconaln resldents Iin other states

If any person, who resides in this state and intends to contlnue
to reside in this state, marries in another state when he 1is prohi-
bited from marrying in Wisconsin, iueh marriage shall be vold, (8ec,
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245,04) The general rule 1s that a marriage which 1s valid where 1t
1s solemnigzed 1s valid eveérywhere, Thls 1s modifled by thls section
whlch declares as the public pqlicy of thls state, that marrlages
contracted within thils state or outslde of thls state in vioclation of
the laws of the state where the partles reside shall be voild. (Hall
v, Industrlal Comm., 165 Wls. 364) If any person residing and intend-
ing to continue to reslide 1n another gtate contracts to marry 1in thils
state in violation of his home state's laws, the marriage is vold.

(8ec, 245.04)
B. TImmaterlal lrregularities

If the marriage 1s in other respects lawful and 1s consummated
with the full bellef on the part of the persgons married that they
have been lawfully jolned in marrisge, iImmaterlal 1irregularities will
be walved., {(3ecs. 245,22 and 245,23)

o, Fee

" g?a fee for each marrlage license 18 $3 plus notary fees. (See,
245.1

VII. Legal Ri%ﬁts Accrulng through Marria&g

A, Dower and curtesy

Upon marriage the wife acquires a right to a dower which 1s de-~
fined as & one-third part of all the lands which her husband owned at
any time during the marrisge unless she 1s lawfully barred from clalm-
ing such dower, Although thils right 1s acquired upon marriage, 1t dces
not become effective untll the death of the husband. Thils does not
apply to any homestead which her husband owned at the time of his

death. (Sec., 233,01)

The husband has no automatlic dower rights such as the wife butb
he 1s entltled to curtesy, which 1s deflned as & one-thlrd part of
all the lands which his wifle owned at the time of her death which
were not dlsposed of by her last will and testament. This does not
apply to a homestead which his wife owned at the time of her death,

{Sec. 233.23)
B. Marrled women's property rights

The real and personhal property of any woman owned prior to her
marriage 1s not subject to disposal by her husband nor 1s 1t llable
for his debts but shall continue as her sole and separate property.

(Sec. 246,02)
C. Legal actions

Every married woman may sue 1n her own name and shall have all
the remedles of an unmarrled woman in regard to her separate property
or buslness. Any marrled woman may bring and malntaln an actlon in
her own name for any injury to her person, {Sec. 246,07)

- 5 o
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ANNULMENT

I, What is the Difference between Divorce and Annulment?

A divorce recognlzes the validlity of a marrlage and a divorce
action 1s predicated on & vallid marriage, When a decree 1s rendered
in a divorce actlion, 1t terminates the relationshlip between the par-
ties from that date on. Annulment on the other hand, challenges the
very existence of a marrisge., An annulment action destroys the exw
istence of a vold or voldable marriage and everything pertalning to

such marrlage from the beginning.

II. @rounds for Annulment (Sec. 247.02)

A marriage may be annulled for any of the followlng causes which
exlated at the time of the marrlage, No annulment shall be granted 1f
the court finds the sult was brought by collusion., {Sec. 247.10) ’

A, Incurable physlcal impotency or incapacity of copulation,
provided that the party making the application was ignorant of such
fact at the time of the marrilage.

B. Marrisge between persons who are nearer of kin than second
cousing,

¢, One party having a lliving husband or wife.

D, Fraud, force or coerclon unless the marrlage has been con-
firmed by the acts of the Injured party.

£, Insanity, idiocy or lack of understanding sufficlent to con-!
sent to a marriage.

F. Under age.
G. The marriage 1s prohlblted for any other reason,

Actions for annulment of marriage are of purely statutory Jjuris-
diction, which cannct be enlarged or extended by resort to the general
equlty powers of the circult court; and such statutory actlon may be
had to set aside elther a vold or & voldable marriage., {Lyannes v,

Lyannes, 171 Wis. 381)

I1TI. Residence Requlrements

To commence a sult for an annulment of a marriage one party must
be a bona flde resident of this state at the time of the commencement
of the action., However, 1f both partles are nonresldents of this
state thelr marriage may be annulled Af they were married 1in this
state, and the action to annul such marriage 1s brought within one
year after the marriage. (Sec, 247.05)

IV. Care and Custody of Minor Children

See VIIT under Divorce and Legal Separation

-6 -
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V. Alimony

In certaln cases, a judge maﬂ award alimony to the woman in an
annulment judgement, (Sec. 2U47.245)

DIVCRCE AND LEGAL SEPARATION

I, Dilvorce and Legal Separatlon

Wisconsin has both divorce and legal separation., Divorce 1s
absolute, TILegal separation 18 a "gqualified divorce" by which the
parties are separated and forbldden to live or cohablt together,
W.thout affecting the marriage itself., Such persons cannot remarry.

I7. Q@rounds for Divorce or Legal Separation {Sec. 2U7.07)

A, Adultery

B. Habitual drunkard for one year

C. Imprisonment for 3 years of elther party

D. Wilful desertion for one year

E. Cruel and inhuman treatment

F, 5 years voluntary separatlion

G. 5 years legal separation {grounds for divorce)
H. Refusal or neglect by husband to support wife

Adultery may be proven by a clear and satlisfactory preponderance
of evidence, (Poertner v. Poertner, 66 Wis. 644)

To make refusal to llve with husband constitute wilful desertion,
the husband must show that it was safe for his wife to live wlth him,
and that she unreasonably refused, and that ghe had no intention of
returning. (MeCormick v. McCormlick, 19 Wis. 172} The husband heas
the right to select the place where the family shall reside, and if
the wif'e unreasonably refuses to move with him to the place he selects,
her conduct constitutes wilful desertion. A wife who wilfully deserts
her husband forfeitas her right to support, and cannct, during the
period of such desertion, malntalin an actlon for dlvorce on the
ground of failure to support. (Gray v. Gray, 232 Wis, 400)

Vioclence, profanity and grossly 1lndecent language and conduct
toward a wife, with threats to kill her and pushing her about 1in
anger and handling her roughly, constitute cruel and inhuman treat-
ment. {(Crichton v. Crichton, 73 Wis, 59} Any wilful misconduct
which endangers the wife's health or life, exposes her to bodily
hazards and intolerable hardship and renders cohabltation unsafe is
cruel and inhuman treatment, (Beyer v, Beyer, S0 Wis, 254)

The refusal or neglect must be substantial and designed, since
1t must be coupled wlth sufficlent ability. The mere fact that a
husband has provided hls wife with temporary support for a definite
time, pursuant to an order of court, does not relieve him from sup-
porting her thereafter, Nor does the pendency of an appeal from &
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Judgment in an action for divorce make it obligatory upon her to
obtain further temporary support by an application for and through
an additional order. Nor does her fallure to prove want of support
prior to the firat actlion prevent her from malntalning a second
actlon for divorce on the ground of hls subsequent fallure to sup=-

port. (Varney v, Varney, 58 Wwis. 19)

111, Resldence Requirements

A, Divorce (Sec, 247.05)

No action for a divorce may he commenced unless one of the par~
ties has been a2 bona fide resident of thias state for 2 years just
before the commencement of the divorce action,

B. Legal separation (Sec. 247.05)

No sction for & legal separatlon may be commenced unlegs one of
the parties has been a bona fide resident of this state for 30 days
before the commencement of the &actlon,

The court 1s without Jurisdiction to grant a divorce where
nelther of the parties has been a bona fide resildent of this state
for the 2 years next preceding the commencement of the action ....

(Sang v, Sang, 240 Wis, 288)
IV. What will Prevent & Dilvorce or Legal Separatlion?

A, Collusion

No decree for divorce or legal separation will be granted 1if it
appears to the satlsfactlion of the court that the sult has been
brought by colluslon, or that the plaintiff has procured or connived
at the offense charged. (Sec, 247,10} Collusion is an agreement
between the parties that one party willl obtain a divorce and the other
wlll not attempt to dlspute it, when there are no actual grounds for
the divorce. This does not prevent an agreement between the parties
that one wlll not dispute the divorce action of the other when there
are legltimate grounds for the divorce, A collusive agreement be-
tween husband and wlfe to procure a divorce when no breach of duty
has been committed would be & fraud upon the court, (Hopkins v.

Hopkins, 39 Wis. 167)

B. Condonation

No divorce shall be granted if the offense charged has been con-
doned. (Sec, 247.10) Condonation is the forglveness or pardon of the
offense charged and may be elther expressed or Impllied. Condonation is
subject to the 1mplied condition that the injury shall not be re-~
peated and that the other party shall thereafter be treated with
conjugal kindness. After condonatlon former injurles wlll be revlived
by subseguent similar mlsconduct, although of slighter nature,
(Crichton v, Crichton, 73 Wis, 59)

. Recriminatlion

The doctrine of recrimination bars a8 diverce where it is shown

-8 -
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that each party has been gullty of an offense which the astatute has
made a ground for divorce 1n favor of the other. (Roberts v, Roberts,
204 Wis, 401) This doctrine 1s generally applicable In Wisconsin, but
(except in cases of uncondoned adultery by the plaintiff) the court
may grant a Judgment of legal separation to the party whose egultles

are superior, (Sec. 247,101}

V. Dlvorce Procedure and Machinery

A, Jurisdiction - power of the courts

All actions to annul a marriage or for a divorce or legal separa-
tion are brought in the family court branch of a county {except Mil-
waukee County) or clrcult court., (Sec. 247,01} Courts possess no
power 1n actions for divorce except such ag are glven by the statutes,
Courts may grant divorces even though the gullty party has never re-
slded in this state and the acts alleged as causes for the dlvorce
were commltted elsewhere. (Shafer v. Bushnell, 24 wis. 372} An ac-
tion for divorce 1s a statutory action, a&nd the trlal court can grant
only such relief as the statutes preseribe., (Hirchert v. Hirchert,
243 Wis. 519) In an actlon for dlvorce or legal separatlon, when the
court grants Judgment 1t may grant elther a divorce or legal separa-
tion as 1t deems in the besat interests of the partles or children to
the marriage, notwithstanding the type of judgment sought. (Sec.,

247.09)
B. Family court commissioner

Coples of the papers 1n an actlon for a divorce must be served
onh the famlly court commlssloner of the county. The famlly court com-
missioner conducts pretrial investigations and works to reconclle the
parties, The famlly court commissioner wlll appear in a default ac-
tion. No decree granting & divorce wlill be rendered in a default
actlon untll the family court commlssloner has made a falr and impar-
tial lnvestlgation of the case 1n behalf of the public and fully ad-
vlises the court as to the merits of the case and the rights and in-
tereat of the partles and the public, The family court commlssioner
1s empowered to have wltnesses subpoenaed on behalf of the state when
in his Judgment thelr testlmony 1s necessary to fully advise the court
as to the merits of the case, (Secs. 247.14 and 247.15)

C. Trials

All hearings and trlals to determine whether or not a decree
shall be granted, must be held before the court, except the issue of
adultery which shall be tried before a Jjury. (Sec. 237.12) The trial
of a divorce action 18 conducted under the same rules that apply in
other civil actions, except Bo far as modifled by statute, (Bloomer

v. Bloomer, 197 Wis. 140)

D. Proor

No divorce, legal separation or annulment will be granted in a
default action unless the cause therefor is shown by afflrmative
proof, No such Jjudgment willl be granted on the testimony of the com-
plainant, unless the required resldence and grounds for the divorce
1a corroborated. When the ground for the divorce 1s cruel and in-
human treatment and no corroborating evidence 1s available such
ground need not be corroborated. (Sec. 247.18)

-9 -
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E., Sult money

In every actlion for a dlvorce the court may, durlng the pendency
of the action, requlre the husband to pay such sums to enable his wife
to carry on or defend the action, and sums necessary for her support

and maintenance, (Sec, 247.23)
VI. Effect of the Judgment of Divorce

A. When a judgment of divorece ls granted 1t shall not be effec-
tive untlil the expiration of one year from the date of the granting
of such judgment, except that 1t immediately bars the partles from

cohabitation., (3ec. 247.37)

A divorce terminates only the relationship of husband and wife
and does not affect the parental relatlon or the duty of the husband
to support a minor child of the couple. (Romancwskl v, Romanowskl,
245 wWis, 199) There 1s no absolute severance of the marriage rela-
tion until the explration of one year from the entry of the dlvorce
Judgment, If elther party marries again durlng that year the remar-
riage 18 vold, even though effected 1n another state. During such
year the court has absolute control over the questlon whether the
dvorce aought shall be granted; and adultery commltted during the
year 1s ground for vacating or modifylng the judgment., (White v.
White, 167 Wis, 6315 An attempted marrlage in Iowa within one year
is vold 1in Jowa as well ag Wlsconsin and constitutes no defense to a
charge of adultery. (State v. Grengs, 253 Wis. 248)

B, When a marrlage 1s dlssolved by the granting of a divorce or
when the court, in granting & legal separation, makes & final dZvision
of the estate, nelther party shall be entitled to dower or curtesy in
any lands of the other. (Sec. 247.36)

VII. Effect of Divorce Decrees Granted by Other States

A, Full faith and credlt will be given 1n thils state to an an-
nulment, legal separstion or divorce rendered by a court of competent
Juriasdiction in another atate of the U,S, when the Jurisdiction of
such court was obtained in the manner and in substantial conformlty
wlth the conditions prescribed ln the Wisconsin Statutes, However,
if any habitant of thils state goes into another state, for the pur-
pose of obtalning a divorce for a cause whilch occurred while the
partles reslded in thila state, or for a cause which is not a ground
for a divorce under the laws of the state of Wisconaln, & decree so
obtalned in the out-of-state court shall be of no force or effect in

this state, (Sec. 247.21)

Thls sectlon does not render a judgment of divorce obtained in
another state ineffective merely because the divorce was granted for
a cause not a ground for divorce in Wlsconsin, but there must also be
established the additlional fact that an inhabltant went into the other
state for the purpose of obtaining a decree for such a cause. (Ische
v, Ische, 252 Wls. 250)

The statutes of Illinols forbldding remarriage within one year
after a divorce and thelir interpretation by the courts of that ztate,
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belng substantially the same as the statutes and declislons of Wiacon-
gin relating to the same subJect, the courts of thls state will take
cognlzance of the Illlnols law and declslons and declare vold 1n Wis-
consin a marrlage contracted in Indlana in violatlon of the laws of
Illinols by resldents of Illinoils, (Hall v, Industrial Commisslon,

165 Wis. 364)

B. A divorce obtailned 1n ancther state shall be of no force or
effect 1n this state, 1f both parties to the marriage were domiclled
in this state at the time the divorce proceeding was commenced. Proof
that a person obtaining a divorce in another state was (1) domiciled
in this state within 12 months prior to the commencement of the di-
vorce proceeding and that the person resumed hls resldence 1n this
state within 18 months after the date of his departure, or (2} if the
person obtaining the dilvorce at 8l times after hls departure from
this state and until his return maintained a place of residence 1in
this state, 1s prima facle evlidence that the person was domlclled in
this state when the divorce proceeding was commenced, (Sec, 247.22)

In an actlon to annul a diveorce granted by a Wyomlng court, the
Wisconsgin court 18 not barred by the full failth and credit clause
from determining that both partles at all times were reslidents of Wilae
consln, even though the wife entered a formal speclal appearance by
counsel 1n the Wyomlng dlvorce actlon objecting to the husband's resi.

dence, (Davis v. Davis, 259 Wis, 1)
VIII. ¢Care and Custody of Minor Chllidren; and Allmony

A, Care and custody

The court when rendering an annulment or whether granting or
denying a dlvorce or legal separation may make provisions for the
proper care, custody, malntenance, and education of the minor children.
The court may glve the care and custody of the chlldren to one of the
partlies to the actlon, or may, 1f the interests of the chlld demand
1t, and 1f the court finds that nelther of the parents 1s a fit and
proper person to have the care and custody of such child, give the
care and custody of such child to any relatlve or welfare agency.

{Secs. 24T.24 and 247.28)

If a wife has obtalned a divorce because of the husband's
eruelty, she 1s prima facle best entitled to custedy of young chil-
dren, {Pauly v. Pauly, 69 Wis. 419) (Custedy of children of tender
years, especilally glrls, will ordinsrily be given to the mother,
other things being equal and she not being unfit. (Acheson v,
Acheson, 235 Wis, 610) In determining the custody of minor children
of divorced parents, the welfare of the chilldren 1s the controlling
conslderation and the action of the trial court resolving that ques-
ticn should not be distyrbed unless clearly wrong. (Hansen v, Hansen,

251 wWis. 574) .

B. Alimeony

In every divorce or legal separatlon granted for any cause ex-
cept that of adultery committed by the wife, the court may allow to
the wife such alimony out of the estate of the husband, for her sup-
port and malntenance and such allowance for the support, maintenance
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and education of the minor chllidren commltted to her custody as the
court deems Just and reasonable., The court may divide and distribute
the egtate of the husband always having due regard to the legal and
equitable rights of each party, the ablllity of the husband, the
speclal estate of the wife, and the character and situation of the
parties and all the circumstances of the case, (Sec, 247,26} If the
wife has an adequate eatate of her own she has no c¢lalm for alimony.
(Campbell v. Campbell, 37 Wis. 206) The court has no authority to
require the wife to pay alimony to the husband. (Brenger v. Brenger,
142 wis. 26) A wife on leaving her husband without reasonable cause
1s not entitled to be supported by him. (Nowack v, Nowack, 235 Wis.

£20)

In determining the allowance to be made to the wife on the divi-
slon of estate 1n a divorce case, 1t is necessary to conslder the
state of health and the earnlng power of the partles; the property
owned by each; the property held ln common; the age of the partles;
the nature of the property and the manner of 1its acquisition; together
with all of the clrcumstances bearing on the question. (Tupltza v.
Tupltza, 251 Wis. 257)

0. When wife to support children

When a divorce or legal separation 1s granted for a cause or
fault committed by the wlfe and the care, custody and malntenance of
minor children 1a glven to the husband, the court may grant to the
husband sums out of the separate egtate of the wife, for the support
and education of such minor chilldren as the court deems Just and rea-
sonable, consldering the abllity of the partles to pay and all other
clrcumstances of the case, (Sec, 247.27) When a divorce or legal
separation 1s denied the court may make an order for the support of
any chlld out of the wife's estate (Sec. 247.28)

ACTIONS ABOLISHED (CH, 248)

I. Breach of Promlse

Since July 1, 1960, no action may be brought in Wisconsin for
breach of promlse (Secs, 248,01 and 248,04) It is 1llegal to file
or threaten such an action {Sec. 248.03), and contracts executed in
regard to such clalms are barred. (Sec., 248.05) The chapter does
not bar actions for fraud in connection with promises of marriage.

{3ec, 248.,06)
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MARRTAGE AND DIVORCE STAT1STICS, 1940-1960

WISCONSIN DNITED STATES
Marriage rate Divorce rate Marriage rate Divorces Divorce rate
Year Merriages per 1,000 pop., Divorces per 1,000 pop. Marriages per 1.000 pop. (Estimated) per 1,000 pop.
1940 23,379 7.5 34599 1,1 1,595,879 12,1 264,000 2,0
l%l 28,316 9:2 &,050 1&3 LA E S O B S N * % ow K ERAAN e LR 2
1gh2 24,869 8.1 3,905 1.3 1,772,132 13.2 321,000 2.4
1983 22,393 74 b4 69 1.5 1,577,050 11.7 359,000 2.6
198 21,190 7.1 54326 1.8 1,452,394 10.9 400,000 2.9
1945 25,269 8.5 6,393 2.2 1,612,992 12,2 485,000 3.5
1946 38,564 12.3 8,197 2.6 2,291,045 164 610,000 4,3
1%7 35,555 10.9 5,877 1.8 1,991,878 13.9 483,000 38
1948 32,579 9.8 5,075 1.5 1,811,155 12.4 408,000 2.8
1949 27,782 8.2 4,815 1.4 1,579,798 10.6 397,000 2.7
1950 29,081 8.4 4,845 1.4 1,667,231 11,1 385,140 2.6
1951 27,133 7.9 ks 1.3 1,594,604 10.4 381,000 2.5
1952 24,737 741 b,8u7 1.4 1,539,318 9.9 392,000 245
1953 25,469 7¢3 5,011 1.4 1,546,000 9.8 390,000 2.5
1954 24,921 6.9 4,887 s 1,476,000 9,2 379,000 )
1955 25,543 70 4,720 1.3 1,524,000 93 377,000 2e3
1956 26,833 742 4,488 1.2 1,585,000 G945 382,000 2,3
1957 25,723 6.8 4,336 1.1 1,518,000 8.9 381,000 2.2
1958 24,985 6.5 4,499 1.2 1,445,000 8.4 368,000 2.1
1959 25,637 6.5 L 657 1.2 1,494,000 8.5 385,114 2.2
1960 24,573 642 3,672 R] 1,527,000 8.5 395,000  Hot available

e A AR W WM WR mm owm W

Sources: Wisconsin Blue Book, 1962, p. 688,
Statistical Abstract of the United States, Vols, 1955 to 1962,
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MARRIAGE AND DIVORCE RATES PER 1,000 POPULATICN, BY counTIESs!
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Marriage and Dlvorce Rates per 1,000 Population, by Countles (cont.)

1966 1950 1640
County Marrlage Dilvorce? Marprlage Divorce® Marrlage Divorce?2
Outagamle 6.4 .6 9.0 1.0 8.3 1.0
Ozaukee 4,9 N 8.3 6,2 .1 12.7
Pepin 6.7 1 9.0 5 7.6 .9
Plerce 5T .1 7.1 .8 4,9 T
Polk 6.3 N 75 1.0 L.,0 .5
Fortage 7.0 .6 9,2 T 7.2 LU
Price 5.4 5 6.7 .7 8.0 T
Racine 5,9 1.3 9.3 1.7 7.3 1.4
Richland 7.4 ) 7.8 9 3.1 1,1
Rock 6.1 1.% B.3 2.5 4.8 2.0
Rusk 7.0 . 8.3 .8 T:T el
St. Crolx 6.3 A 16.8 .8 12.9 .3
Sauk 7.6 .B 7.6 1.4 6.4 .6
Sawyer 6.1 1.2 7.3 1.4 6.7 3
Shawano 8,2 1,1 8.4 1.0 8.8 B
Sheboygan 6.5 1.1 8.9 .8 8.6 .7
Taylﬂl‘* ?o)"l' oa 6:7 05 509 ;)“'
Trempealeau 6.8 .3 7.8 .6 77 .1
Vernon 7.1 5 6.9 A 3.0 1.0
Vilas 7.1 5 7.8 1.4 9,1 .G
Welworth 6.5 1.1 8.2 1.7 6.8 1.3
Washburn 6.6 .3 6.5 3.1 4.9 .7
Washington 6.0 A 7.8 1.4 7.9 3.7
Waukesha 4.6 .8 7.2 1.3 7.6 2.1
Waupaca 7.7 .6 B.2 1.0 8.6 1.0
Waushara 6.4 .2 7.0 .9 7.4 A
Winnebago 6,0 .9 9.2 1.3 7.1 1.3
Wood 6.6 .6 8.4 1.2 7.0 1.1

e . T e R I T " T R

1Cempated using county population figures from Blue Book (1962},

659, and marriage and divorce figures from State Board of Health
publicatians, Public Health Statisticg (1960C), pp. T70-71, Morbidit
and Mortality (1950), pp. 10-11, and Thirty-ninth Report (1942
p. 107.

2Inecludes annulments but does not include legal separations.
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