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SEX CRIME LEGISLATION


SUMMARY 

Significant research indicates that many individuals who commit sex­related crimes may 
suffer from mental illness or be driven by difficult­to­control compulsive behavior.  Further­
more, treatment programs seem to have limited success rates in the long run.  Because sexual 
criminals, as a group, exhibit a high incidence of repeat offenses, those released from prison 
are given heightened scrutiny by law enforcement officers through the sex offender registra­
tion and community notification programs.  In addition, some are judicially ordered to be 
retained in confinement at the expiration of their sentences, for continued treatment and for 
the protection of the public. 

In a continuing response to these concerns, the legislature adopted a number of laws dur­
ing the 2005­06 session which pertain to subjects ranging from GPS tracking of certain sex 
offenders, to making alcohol qualify as a possible “date rape” drug, and to creating a manda­
tory minimum prison sentence (25 years) for sexual intercourse with children. 

This bulletin reviews Wisconsin laws pertaining to sex crimes and summarizes the 14 
laws relating to sex crimes enacted in the 2005­06 legislative session.  Sex crimes relating to 
adults are located in Chapter 940 of the Wisconsin Statutes, and sex crimes concerning chil­
dren are in Chapter 948.  An appendix provides summaries of Wisconsin’s sex crime laws and 
lists the associated penalties. 

I. LEGISLATION ENACTED IN 2005­06 

The Wisconsin Legislature enacted 14 
laws relating to sex crimes during the 
2005­06 session: 
� 2005 Wisconsin Act 5 authorizes local law 

enforcement officers or the Wisconsin 
Department of Corrections to provide 
previously restricted information from 
the sex offender registry to the public 
regarding a child who is in the registry or 
concerning a delinquency case in which 
the registrant was involved. 

� Act 271 provides a maximum penalty of 
life imprisonment without the possibility 
of parole or extended supervision if a 
person has one or more prior convictions 
for first degree sexual assault, and is 
subsequently convicted of this crime. 

� Act 273 expands the definition of “sexual 
contact” so that it includes cases in which 
the person causes someone else to 

ejaculate or emit urine or feces on any 
part of the person’s body, whether 
clothed or unclothed, for the purpose of 
sexual humiliation, degradation, arousal, 
or gratification. 

� Act 274 prohibits a person who is at least 
21 years of age from having sexual 
contact or sexual intercourse with a 16­ or 
17­year­old with whom the person works 
or interacts through an occupation or 
volunteer position (other than through a 
school). 

� Act 276 eliminates the statute of 
limitation for first degree sexual assault 
of a child.  In addition, it provides that in 
cases of first degree sexual assault (of an 
adult), a prosecution may be started at 
any time after the analysis of DNA 
evidence identifies a probable 
perpetrator. 

� Act 277 creates the crime of sexual assault 
of a child placed in substitute care.  A 
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foster parent or a person who works or 
volunteers at a shelter care facility, group 
home, or residential care center may not 
have sexual contact or sexual intercourse 
with a child who is under the person’s 
foster care or who is placed in one of the 
facilities.  The act also classifies as incest 
a stepparent having sexual contact or 
sexual intercourse with his or her 
stepchild. 

� Act 430 changes the criteria, definitions, 
and penalties for first degree sexual 
assault of a child, including a mandatory 
minimum sentence of 25 years in prison 
for sexual intercourse involving the use 
or threat of force or violence with a child 
less than 16 years old.  (“Jessica’s Law,” 
prompted by the case of a Florida girl 
who was kidnapped and killed by a 
registered sex offender living next door.) 

� Act 431 provides for Global Positioning 
System tracking of certain sex offenders, 
modifies the rules regarding residential 
placement of released sex offenders, and 
expands the information that must be 
made available on the Sex Offender 
Registry Internet Web site. 

� Act 432 generally prohibits a registered 
sex offender from photographing a child. 

� Act 433 increases the penalties and 
creates presumptive minimum sentences 
for violations of sexual exploitation of a 
child, using a computer to facilitate a 
child sex crime, or possession of child 
pornography.  The act also creates a $500 
child pornography surcharge. 

� Act 434 changes the definition of 
“sexually violent person” (“sexual 
predator”), including adding third 
degree sexual assault to the list of 
covered sexually violent offenses, and 
makes changes to the commitment, 
periodic reexamination, supervised 
release, and discharge of sexually violent 
persons. 

� Act 435 changes the definition of “sexual 
contact” to specify that sexual contact 
includes conduct involving a victim and 
a third person if it is undertaken at the 
defendant’s instruction. 

� Act 436 changes the criteria for sexual 
assault of a person under the influence of 
an intoxicant, which is a form of second 
degree sexual assault, and specifies that 
alcohol beverages alone are sufficient to 
render a person incapable of giving 
consent to sexual activity.  Previously, 
alcohol must have been used in 
combination with a controlled substance, 
or drugs alone, or a combination thereof. 

� Act 437 increases the penalties if first 
degree sexual assault of a child results in 
great bodily harm to the victim. 

Previous Bulletins. Previous editions 
of this publication are available at the 
Legislative Reference Bureau’s Web site: 
� Informational Bulletin 04­3, September 2004: 

http://www.legis.state.wi.us/lrb/pubs/ib/ 
04ib3.pdf. 

� Informational Bulletin 01­1, January 2001: 
http://www.legis.state.wi.us/lrb/pubs/ib/ 
01ib1.pdf. 

II. REGISTRATION OF SEX 
OFFENDERS 

In general, Section 301.45, Wisconsin 
Statutes, requires that persons who have 
been convicted of certain serious sex crimes 
must register once each calendar year with 
the Wisconsin Department of Corrections 
(DOC) while in prison, after release from 
custody, or when they are placed extended 
supervision, probation, parole, or other 
supervised status.  Also required to register 
are those adjudicated delinquent or found 
not guilty or not responsible by reason of 
mental disease or defect for applicable sex 
crimes.  The requirement to register sex 
offenders was created by 1993 Wisconsin Act 
98, and amended by 1995 Wisconsin Act 440 
and other acts. As of June 2005, there were 
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approximately 18,400 registered sex 
offenders in Wisconsin. 

Offenses Requiring Registration. 
Crimes which mandate inclusion in the sex 
offender registry are: 

� First, second, or third degree sexual 
assault. 

� Incest. 
� Sexual exploitation by a therapist. 
� First or second degree sexual assault of a 

child. 
� Engaging in repeated acts of sexual 

assault of the same child. 
� Sexual exploitation of a child. 
� Forcing a child to view or listen to sexual 

activity. 
� Child enticement. 
� Soliciting a child for prostitution. 
� Sexual assault of a student by a school 

instructional staff person. 
� Exposing a child to harmful material or 

harmful descriptions or narrations. 
� Possession of child pornography. 
� Abduction of another’s child. 
� Interference with custody by a parent or 

others if the victim is a minor and the 
person who committed the violation is 
not the victim’s parent. 

� A child sex offender working with 
children. 

� Using a computer to facilitate a child sex 
crime. 

Registration is also required for any 
person found to be a sexually violent person 
(“sexual predator”) under Chapter 980.  In 
addition, a court may order registration if a 
person has committed certain nonsexual 
offenses if the court finds that the offense 
was sexually motivated and that it is in the 
interest of public safety to require 
registration.  Those convicted in other states 
or in a federal, military, or tribal court of any 

of the listed crimes or otherwise required to 
register with another state or with the FBI 
must register if they live, work, or attend 
school in Wisconsin. 

Information Required for Registry. 
The offender must provide the following: 
� Name, including any aliases used. 
� Personal identification information, 

including date of birth, gender, race, 
height, weight, and hair and eye color. 

� Detailed information about the offense 
committed, the disposition of the case, 
and the terms and conditions of 
probation, supervision, conditional 
transfer, or supervised release. 

� Residence address.

� Supervising agency.

� Description of any owned or registered


motor vehicle. 
� Name and location of person’s employer 

or school he or she will be attending. 
In most cases, updated information 

must be provided to DOC within 10 days 
after a change occurs, but if the registrant is 
on parole or extended supervision, DOC 
must be notified of an imminent change of 
address before the registrant moves to a 
different residence.  DOC may also require 
an offender to provide fingerprints and a 
recent photograph. 

A registered sex offender may not 
change his or her name or identify himself or 
herself by a name other than the one by 
which he or she is identified by DOC. The 
department is required to make a reasonable 
attempt to notify registered sex offenders of 
these prohibitions, but the failure to receive 
a notification is not a defense for an offender 
to violate the law.  Violation is a Class H 
felony, unless it is a first violation and the 
person was ordered to register as a sex 
offender based on committing a 
misdemeanor, in which case the penalty is a 
maximum fine of $10,000 or maximum 
imprisonment of nine months, or both. 
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Duration of Registration 
Requirements.  A person generally must 
continue to register as a sex offender for 15 
years after the date of discharge from 
sentence, commitment, or other type of 
supervision.  Lifetime registration is 
generally required for sexually violent 
persons, any person convicted of a sex 
offense on two or more separate occasions, 
and those placed by a court on lifetime 
supervision for the commission of certain 
serious sex offenses, including first, second, 
or third degree sexual assault; or first or 
second degree sexual assault of a child.  A 
court may also order lifetime registration 
when a person has been convicted of a 
sexually motivated serious felony. 

Exemption.  If the court feels 
registration is not necessary for public 
protection, it may exempt an offender 
provided the individual was less than 19 
years old at the time of the violation and the 
victim was a child not more than four years 
younger or four years older than the 
perpetrator. This exemption typically 
relates to consensual sex between teenagers. 
It is not available if the sexual assault 
involved sexual intercourse with a child 
under the age of 12 or if it involved the use 
or threat of force or violence. 

Penalties for Failure to Register. 
Intentional failure to comply with the 
registration or reporting requirements is a 
Class H felony.  However, if the person was 
ordered to register as a sex offender based on 
committing a misdemeanor, a first violation 
is an unclassified misdemeanor punishable 
by a maximum fine of $10,000 or a prison 
term of not more than nine months, or both. 

Federal Mandates.  The federal Violent 
Crime Control and Law Enforcement Act of 
1994 encouraged states to establish sex 
offender registration and community 
notification procedures by September 1997 
or risk losing 10% of their federal law 
enforcement aid.  Wisconsin legislation was 

motivated, in part, by the desire to preserve 
federal anticrime grant money. 

III.  COMMUNITY NOTIFICATION 
AND PLACEMENT OF REGISTERED 
SEX OFFENDERS 

Information from DOC’s sex offender 
registry is made available to police chiefs 
and sheriffs, who may provide that 
information on their own initiative to certain 
organizations (including schools, day care 
providers, and certain government 
agencies), individuals, or the general public 
if they determine that doing so is in the 
public interest.  In addition, organizations 
may request information regarding specific 
registrants from DOC, and individuals may 
request such information from either DOC 
or local law enforcement agencies.  Also, 
information about sex offenders and where 
they live is available on DOC’s Web site. 

Placement of Sex Offenders.  The issue 
of the placement of sex offenders is the 
source of heated debates.  The U.S. 
Constitution protects a person’s right to live 
wherever he or she chooses, and this civil 
liberty extends to those who have served 
their sentences for committing even the most 
heinous crimes. On the other hand, 
residents of the community often are 
understandably concerned about having a 
convicted sex offender living in their 
neighborhood, especially if the individual 
has preyed upon children.  Faced with these 
conflicting interests, a consensus has 
emerged that public safety is best served if 
offenders register with the authorities and 
notification is provided to victims, police, 
certain groups, and the general public when 
sex criminals move into a community. 

Sex offenders released from prison are 
typically placed in or near the community 
that was their last residence prior to 
committing the crime, often in a halfway 
house or other setting which facilitates 
monitoring and treatment efforts.  Section 
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301.03 requires DOC to minimize, to the 
greatest extent possible, the residential 
population density of sex offenders who are 
on probation, parole, or extended 
supervision or placed on supervised release. 
2005 Wisconsin Act 431 generally provides 
that registered sex offenders, upon release to 
parole or extended supervision, will be 
placed in one of the following locations: 

� The county in which the person resided 
on the date of committing the sex offense. 
If the person resided in Milwaukee 
County, he or she must generally be 
placed in a residential facility or dwelling 
in the person’s city, village, or town of 
residence. 

� The county in which the person was 
convicted of the sex offense. 

� A sex offender treatment facility. 
(However, a parolee may not be placed in 
any county where there is a correctional 
institution that has a specialized sex 
offender treatment program, unless that 
county is also the person’s county of 
residence.) 

GPS Tracking of Certain Sex 
Offenders. 2005 Wisconsin Act 431 requires 
DOC to arrange for lifetime Global 
Positioning System (GPS) tracking of 
someone released into the community if he 
or she has committed a serious child sex 
offense or has been adjudicated as a sexually 
violent person.  DOC may also have a person 
tracked if he or she is placed on probation, 
extended supervision, or parole for other sex 
crimes.  Lifetime tracking due to sexual 
assault of a child is covered if any of the 
following apply: 

� The perpetrator had sexual intercourse 
with a person less than 12 years old. 

� The perpetrator had sexual intercourse 
with a person less than 16 years old by 
use or threat of force or violence. 

� The perpetrator had sexual contact with 
a person less than 16 years old by use or 

threat of force or violence and the 
perpetrator is at least 18 years old. 

A person may petition the court to have 
his or her lifetime GPS tracking terminated 
after 20 years. After holding a hearing, the 
court may grant the petition if it determines 
that lifetime tracking is no longer necessary 
for public protection.  DOC may petition the 
court to end tracking if a person becomes 
permanently physically incapacitated. 

If necessary for public safety, DOC must 
create individualized exclusion and 
inclusion zones for a person who is subject to 
GPS tracking.  An “exclusion zone” is an area 
the person is prohibited from entering 
except for the purposes of traveling through 
it on the way to a destination.  An “inclusion 
zone” is an area the person is prohibited 
from leaving.  In creating exclusion zones, 
DOC is to focus on areas where children 
congregate, with perimeters of 100 to 250 
feet, and on areas where the person has been 
prohibited from going as a condition of 
probation, extended supervision, parole, 
conditional release, or supervised release. 

Community Notification.  Wisconsin 
law provides for community notification by 
DOC or law enforcement agencies regarding 
registered sex offenders who move into a 
neighborhood.  Section 301.46, Wisconsin 
Statutes, was modeled after New Jersey’s 
1994 community notification law (“Megan’s 
Law”), which was named for Megan Kanka, 
a seven­year­old girl who was sexually 
assaulted and murdered by a man who had 
served a prison sentence for sexually 
molesting another child before taking up 
residence across the street from her house 
upon his release.  In 1998, the U.S. Supreme 
Court declined to review a challenge, thus 
sustaining the law, which had been upheld 
as constitutional by the New Jersey Supreme 
Court and the U.S. Circuit Court of Appeals. 

1993 Wisconsin Act 98 required DOC to 
share information regarding sex offenders 
with law enforcement agencies.  1995 
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Wisconsin Act 440 expanded access to 
certain individuals and groups, and 1997 
Wisconsin Act 6 gave local law enforcement 
agencies the discretionary authority to 
provide any information to the community 
in any manner to promote public safety. 

Bulletins to Police. DOC, or another 
agency responsible for supervising a sex 
offender, notifies the local law enforcement 
agency if a registered sex offender will be 
residing, working, or attending school in the 
law enforcement agency’s area of 
jurisdiction.  The rule applies if an offender 
is being released from confinement or 
institutional care to a community placement 
(including electronic monitoring), or 
released outright.  This notice, known as 
Special Bulletin Notification, is required if 
the person has two or more sex offense 
convictions or has been judicially 
determined to be a sexually violent person. 
Notification of local law enforcement 
authorities is optional if the offender has 
been convicted of a sex offense on only one 
occasion and DOC or the supervising 
agency considers notification necessary to 
protect the public. 

Notification of the General Public. 
When a police chief or sheriff receives a 
special bulletin notification that a registered 
sex offender will be released in the area, the 
chief or sheriff may, using his or her 
discretion, provide to the public any 
information about the offender who will be 
living, working, or attending school in the 
area if he or she believes that notification is 
necessary for public protection.  The law 
enforcement agency is responsible for 
determining, on a case­by­case basis, what 
form of community notification is 
appropriate for public safety.  DOC has 
formulated three levels of community 
notification, based on the criminal history of 
the offender: Level 1 is limited to members 
(officers or deputies) of law enforcement 
agencies; Level 2, “Targeted Notification,” 

includes specific groups or facilities in a 
geographic area related to the offender’s 
identified pattern of behavior, such as 
schools, neighbors, civic groups, day care 
centers, recreational facilities, libraries, etc.; 
and Level 3, “Expanded Notification,” in 
which the general public is provided with 
publicity about the released offender 
through methods such as the electronic and 
print news media, community meetings, or 
door­to­door notification. 

2005 Wisconsin Act 5 authorized a police 
chief or sheriff to provide information from 
the sex offender registry concerning a 
registrant who is a child or concerning a 
delinquency case in which the registrant was 
involved to an organization, an individual, 
or the general public if necessary to protect 
the public.  DOC may also do so in response 
to a request for information regarding a 
specific registrant in the interest of public 
safety.  Previously, information regarding 
juvenile registrants was not releasable. 

If any person requests information 
about a specific registered sex offender, and 
DOC, or a police chief or sheriff, believes that 
providing the information is necessary to 
protect the public, information may be 
provided regarding the date and location of 
the offender ’s conviction, and any other 
information that DOC, a police chief, or 
sheriff determines is appropriate. 

Notification of Neighborhood Watch 
Organizations.  If requested by a 
neighborhood watch organization, DOC 
must provide the names of and certain other 
information regarding all registered sex 
offenders who reside, are employed, or 
attend school in the organization’s 
community or geographical area of activity. 

Internet Access to the Sex Offender 
Registry.  1999 Wisconsin Act 89 required 
DOC to provide to the general public 
Internet access to information concerning 
registered sex offenders.  DOC may also 
inform the public by any other means that 
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the department determines is appropriate. 
The Internet site must be organized in a 
manner that allows a person using it to 
obtain the information the department is 
required to provide and other information 
the department determines is necessary to 
protect the public.  DOC must also provide, 
by Internet access, the means for a law 
enforcement agency to easily identify 
changes that have occurred in the residence, 
employment, or place of school attendance 
of a person registered as a sex offender. 

2005 Wisconsin Act 431 expanded the 
information that must be made available on 
the registry, to include: 

� A notice, in red letters, that the person is 
a sexually violent person (”sexual 
predator”), when applicable. 

� A current color photograph of the person, 
if available, and physical description 
including sex, race, height, weight, eye 
and hair color. 

� The person’s name and home address. 
� Whether the person has responded to the 

last contact letter from DOC. 
� The crime committed for which the 

person must register. 
� Any conditions of the person’s 

supervised release, except for any 
condition that may reveal the identity of 
the crime victim. 

� The date, time, and place of any 
scheduled hearings for supervised 
release or discharge. 

� The name and court of the judge who 
authorized supervised release or 
discharge. 

� The most recent date on which the 
information was updated. 

The DOC Sex Offender Registry, which 
allows a person to search for information by 
name or location, is at http://offender.doc. 
state.wi.us/public. To report information 
concerning the whereabouts of 

noncompliant registrants, call the SAFE Tip 
Line toll­free at (877) 234­0085. For further 
information about the registry, call DOC at 
(608) 240­5830. 

IV. INVOLUNTARY CIVIL 
COMMITMENT OF SEXUALLY 
VIOLENT PERSONS − 
THE “SEXUAL PREDATOR” LAW 

Wisconsin’s involuntary civil 
commitment law for sexual offenders, 
created by 1993 Wisconsin Act 479, is similar 
to a law that provides custodial treatment for 
certain mentally ill persons who present an 
immediate danger of physical harm to 
themselves or others.  The law, commonly 
known as the “Sexual Predator” Law, is in 
Chapter 980, Wisconsin Statutes, titled 
“Sexually Violent Person Commitments.” 

Commitment Procedure. When a sex 
offender nears the end of the initial period of 
confinement, the law permits involuntary 
civil commitment to a secure mental 
institution or other supervised care if the 
court determines the person is dangerous to 
others because the person’s mental disorder 
makes it likely that he or she will engage in 
one or more acts of sexual violence. 
Included among the offenses which makes a 
person eligible for consideration as a 
sexually violent person are: first, second, or 
third degree sexual assault; first or second 
degree sexual assault of a child, incest with 
a child, and child enticement. 

This civil commitment, which can be 
imposed only after a probable cause hearing 
and a trial in circuit court, is designed to 
protect the public while offering the sex 
offender treatment for the mental disorder. 
Control, care, and treatment must be 
provided in the least restrictive manner 
consistent with the person’s requirements 
and the court’s commitment order.  The 
person’s status must be reviewed 
periodically, and once it is determined that 
protection of the public no longer requires 
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the offender to be kept in institutional care, 
he or she becomes eligible for release. If the 
offender is discharged or released to a 
halfway house or other supervised 
community living arrangement, the 
Department of Health and Family Services 
must notify DOC, as well as the crime victim 
or family of the victim.  A person released to 
community placement is subject to the 
conditions set by the court and to the rules of 
the Department of Health and Family 
Services. 

After 12 months in custody, a person 
may petition the court for supervised release 
from civil commitment.  The court may not 
authorize supervised release unless it finds 
that: the person has made significant 
progress in treatment and the progress can 
be sustained while on supervised release; it 
is substantially probable that the person will 
not engage in an act of sexual violence while 
on supervised release; needed treatment and 
providers are reasonably available; the 
person can be reasonably expected to 
comply with all of the conditions or rules of 
supervised release; and a reasonable level of 
resources are available to provide the level of 
residential placement, supervision, and 
ongoing treatment needs required for the 
safe management of the person while on 
supervised release.  Subsequent petitions 
may be submitted 12 months after each 
denial. 

A person may petition for discharge 
from commitment at any time.  If the state 
does not meet the burden of proving to the 
court or the jury by clear and convincing 
evidence that the person continues to meet 
the criteria for commitment as a sexually 
violent person, the person is discharged. 

The sexually violent persons law is 
sometimes known as the “Gerald Turner 
Law” after the man who was convicted in 
1973 for the sexual assault and murder of a 
Fond du Lac girl, who disappeared while 
Halloween trick­or­treating.  The legislature 

passed the law in response to controversy 
surrounding Turner’s impending release 
from prison after he had served less than half 
of his 38­year sentence. 

Predator Law Upheld by Supreme 
Court.  Opponents of the law have asserted 
that it is primarily punitive in nature and 
violates the constitutional ban on “double 
jeopardy” by imposing additional 
punishment on persons who have served 
their sentences. They argue that sex 
criminals are singled out for special 
detention while other violent offenders are 
released, and express concern that the law 
must provide sufficient due process 
protection before a person is indefinitely 
consigned to a mental health institution. 
Defense attorneys also contend the law is 
unconstitutional because persons do not 
receive the appropriate level of treatment, or 
are confined unnecessarily due to a lack of 
halfway houses or just because the public 
opposes having sex criminals reside in their 
community. 

On December 8, 1995, the Wisconsin 
Supreme Court upheld the “sexual 
predator” law as constitutional. In 
simultaneously deciding two separate cases 
by identical 6­1 margins, the court ruled that 
the primary purpose of the law was not 
punitive. The court determined that the 
objective of the law is to provide treatment 
while protecting the public from future sex 
crimes.  It concluded the law did not violate 
the constitutional prohibitions against 
double jeopardy and ex post facto laws. Prior 
to the supreme court’s decision, about half of 
the 35 cases challenging the law had resulted 
in lower court rulings that the law was 
unconstitutional. 

The Wisconsin Supreme Court had 
stated that the previous “substantially 
probable” criteria for committing or 
retaining a sexually violent person in 
commitment means that the person is highly 
likely to engage in acts of sexual violence. 
2003 Wisconsin Act 187 changed the 
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standard to “likely” that the person will 
engage in acts of sexual violence if the 
person is not continued in institutional care. 
In addition, the act allows the state to retain 
the person in custody if the person has not 
demonstrated significant progress in his or 
her treatment or has refused treatment. 

V. TESTING SEX OFFENDERS 

DNA Testing.  Persons convicted or 
judicially determined to have committed 
any felony, including sexual assault, must 
provide a biological sample to the state 
crime laboratories for inclusion in the state’s 
DNA database. In addition, the court may 
order DNA sampling if a person is placed on 
probation for most sex crime convictions. 

HIV Testing.  If someone has been 
convicted of sexual assault (or been found 
not guilty by reason of mental disease or 
defect), and the victim (or the victim’s parent 
or guardian, if the victim is a minor) requests 
it, the district attorney (DA) must apply for 
a court order for the perpetrator to be tested 
for sexually transmitted diseases and the 
HIV virus associated with AIDS.  If the court 
finds there is probable cause to believe that 
the victim has been significantly exposed, 
the court will order that the offender be 
tested and the results disclosed. 

Prior to conviction, if the alleged victim 
requests testing, and the DA has probable 
cause to believe that the defendant has 
significantly exposed the alleged victim, the 
DA must apply for a court to order testing. 
If the court agrees there is probable cause, it 
will order that the defendant be tested. 

Lie Detector Testing of Offenders. 
DOC or the Department of Health and 
Family Services may require a sex offender 
to submit to a lie detector test while in 
confinement or as a condition of probation, 
parole, or extended supervision. 

Lie Detector Testing of Sexual Assault 
Victims.  A law enforcement officer, in the 
course of taking a report from a person who 
is reporting that he or she was the victim of 
second degree sexual assault of an adult, 
sexual assault of a child, or sexual 
exploitation by a therapist, may not order, 
request, or suggest that the person submit to 
a test using a lie detector. The officer may not 
provide the victim with information 
regarding lie detector tests unless the person 
requests such information.  In addition, a 
district attorney may not order a sexual 
assault victim to submit to a lie detector test, 
and may not suggest or request that the 
person submit to a test without first 
providing the person with notice and 
explanation of his or her right not to submit 
to such a test. 
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APPENDIX − A SUMMARY OF SEX 
CRIMES AND PENALTIES 

HISTORY 

In the early days of statehood, sexual 
activity was considered legally acceptable 
only within the confines of married, 
heterosexual relationships.  The codes of 
sexual conduct were often strictly enforced 
and violations severely punished.  In recent 
years, laws relating to sexual activity have 
been liberalized so that most types of private 
sexual conduct between consenting adults 
are not prohibited and many other types of 
behavior that are nominally illegal, such as 
adultery, are generally not prosecuted by 
law enforcement authorities.  Nevertheless, 
certain reprehensible sex crimes remain 
subject to stringent penalties and vigorous 
enforcement, and the official public policy of 
the state, as expressed in Section 944.01, 
Wisconsin Statutes, is to promote only 
“good” sexual behavior: 

The state recognizes that it has a duty to 
encourage high moral standards. 
Although the state does not regulate the 
private sexual activity of consenting 
adults, the state does not condone or 
encourage any form of sexual conduct 
outside the institution of marriage. 
Marriage is the foundation of family 
and society.  Its stability is basic to 
morality and civilization, and of vital 
interest to society and this state. 
Through the years, both the terminology 

and substance of the laws relating to sexual 
activity have been extensively modified. 
Major alterations include:  the revision of the 
criminal code instituted by Chapter 696, 
Laws of 1955; the change from the term 
“rape” to “sexual assault” in Chapter 184, 
Laws of 1975; and 1983 Wisconsin Act 17, 
which decriminalized most types of private 
(that which is not conducted “in public”) 
sexual activity between consenting adults, 
including homosexual activity. 

KEY DEFINITIONS 

Terminology relating to sex crimes is 
summarized below and the related section 
of the Wisconsin Statutes is cited: 

Intimate Parts − “the breast, buttock, 
anus, groin, scrotum, penis, vagina or pubic 
mound of a human being” − Section 939.22 
(19). 

Sexual Contact − “the intentional 
touching by the defendant or, upon the 
defendant’s instruction, by a third person of 
the clothed or unclothed intimate parts of 
another person with any part of the body 
clothed or unclothed or with any object or 
device, or the intentional touching by the 
defendant or, upon the defendant’s 
instruction, by a third person of any part of 
the body clothed or unclothed of another 
person with the intimate parts of the body 
clothed or unclothed, or the intentional 
penile ejaculation of ejaculate or intentional 
emission of urine or feces by the defendant 
or, upon the defendant’s instruction, by a 
third person upon any part of the body 
clothed or unclothed of another person, if 
that intentional touching, ejaculation or 
emission is for the purpose of sexual 
humiliation, sexual degradation, sexual 
arousal or gratification” − Section 939.22 
(34). 

Sexual Contact (Crimes Against 
Children) − means any of the following: 
� Intentional touching by the complainant 

or defendant, either directly or through 
clothing by the use of any body part or 
object, of the complainant’s or 
defendant’s intimate parts if that 
intentional touching is either for the 
purpose of sexually degrading or 
sexually humiliating the complainant or 
for the purpose of sexually arousing or 
gratifying the defendant. − Section 948.01 
(5) (a).

� Intentional penile ejaculation of ejaculate 
or intentional emission of urine or feces 
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by the defendant upon any part of the 
body clothed or unclothed of the 
complainant if that ejaculation or 
emission is either for the purpose of 
sexually degrading or sexually 
humiliating the complainant or for the 
purpose of sexually arousing or 
gratifying the defendant. − Section 948.01 
(5) (b).

Sexual Intercourse − “vulvar 
penetration as well as cunnilingus, fellatio or 
anal intercourse between persons or any 
other intrusion, however slight, of any part 
of a person’s body or of any object into the 
genital or anal opening either by the 
defendant or upon the defendant’s 
instruction.  The emission of semen is not 
required.” − Section 948.01 (6). 

Sexual Intercourse − (First Degree 
Sexual Assault of a Child) − “vulvar 
penetration as well as cunnilingus, fellatio, 
or anal intercourse between persons or any 
intrusion of any inanimate object into the 
genital or anal opening either by the 
defendant or upon the defendant’s 
instruction.  The emission of semen is not 
required.” − Section 948.02 (1) (a). 

Sexually Explicit Conduct − “actual or 
simulated sexual intercourse, meaning 
vulvar penetration as well as cunnilingus, 
fellatio or anal intercourse between persons 
or any other intrusion, however slight, of 
any part of a person’s body or of any object 
into the genital or anal opening either by a 
person or upon the person’s instruction (the 
emission of semen is not required); 
bestiality; masturbation; sexual sadism or 
sexual masochistic abuse including, but not 
limited to, flagellation, torture or bondage; 
or lewd exhibition of intimate parts.” − 
Section 948.01 (7). 

Consent − “words or overt actions by a 
person who is competent to give informed 
consent indicating a freely given agreement 
to have sexual intercourse or sexual 
contact.” Minors, persons suffering from 

mental illness or defect, and sleeping or 
unconscious persons are presumed unable 
to give consent. Failure to resist does not 
indicate consent. − Section 940.225 (4). 

SEX CRIMES AGAINST ADULTS 

See the final section for the penalties 
prescribed for a particular class of crime. 
Citations are to the Wisconsin Statutes. 

First Degree Sexual Assault.  Section 
940.225 (1) prohibits sexual contact or sexual 
intercourse without consent in any of the 
following situations:  1) the assault causes 
pregnancy or great bodily harm; 2) the 
assault involves the use or threat of use of a 
dangerous weapon, or what appears to be 
one; 3) the perpetrator is aided or abetted by 
one or more other persons and the assault 
involves the use or threat of use of force or 
violence.  Marriage is not a bar to 
prosecution in any sexual assault case. 
(Class B felony) 

Second Degree Sexual Assault. Section 
940.225 (2) prohibits sexual contact or sexual 
intercourse without consent in situations 
involving: 1) use of or threat of force or 
violence; 2) causing an injury, illness, disease 
or impairment of a sexual or reproductive 
organ, or mental anguish requiring 
psychiatric care for the victim; 3) assault 
upon a victim who suffers from a mental 
illness or deficiency that renders the person 
temporarily or permanently incapable of 
appraising the victim’s conduct, and the 
perpetrator knows of such condition; 4) 
assault upon a person who the perpetrator 
knows is unconscious; 5) the assault is 
abetted by one or more other persons; 6) 
assault upon a patient or resident of a health 
or treatment facility or program by an 
employee of that facility or program; or 7) 
assault upon a person that the perpetrator 
knows is under the influence of an intoxicant 
(any alcohol beverage, a controlled 
substance or other drug, or any combination 
thereof) to a degree which renders the 
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person incapable of giving consent, and the 
defendant knows this (Class C felony). 

If a sexual assault in the context of a 
social or romantic situation involves one 
party being under the influence of alcohol or 
other drugs, it may be an example of 
so­called “date rape” and be a second degree 
sexual assault.  If sexual nonconsensual 
contact or intercourse occurs, and 
intoxicants were not involved, then the 
“date rape” incident may be a first, second, 
or third degree sexual assault, depending 
upon factors such as the threat or use of force 
or violence or whether the assault resulted in 
an injury to the victim. 

Third Degree Sexual Assault.  Section 
940.225 (3) prohibits sexual intercourse 
without consent. It also prohibits 
nonconsensual sexual contact involving 
intentional ejaculation or emission of urine 
or feces if such conduct is either for the 
purposes of sexual degradation or 
humiliation or sexual arousal or 
gratification (Class G felony).  The violation 
applies whether a person performs one of 
the acts or intentionally causes another 
person to perform one of the acts on the first 
person, whether clothed or unclothed. 

Fourth Degree Sexual Assault.  Section 
940.225 (3m) prohibits nonconsensual 
sexual contact involving the intentional 
touching of clothed or unclothed intimate 
body parts (Class A misdemeanor). 

Correctional Officers Having Sexual 
Activity with Inmates.  Sections 940.225 (2) 
(h) and (i) prohibit a person who works at a 
correctional facility, such as a state prison, 
county jail, Huber facility, juvenile detention 
facility, etc., from having sexual intercourse 
or sexual contact with a person who is 
confined in the institution.  A probation, 
parole, or extended supervision agent may 
also generally not have sexual intercourse or 
contact with someone over whom he or she 
has supervision on probation, parole, or 

extended supervision (Second degree sexual 
assault − Class C felony). 

Employees of Health or Treatment 
Facilities Having Sexual Activity With 
Patients or Residents.  Section 940.225 (2) (g) 
prohibits an employee of an adult family 
home, a community­based residential 
facility, an inpatient health care facility, or a 
state treatment facility from having sexual 
contact or sexual intercourse with an adult 
or a child who is a patient or resident of that 
facility.  (Second degree sexual assault − 
Class C felony) 

SEX CRIMES AGAINST CHILDREN 

First Degree Sexual Assault of a Child. 
Section 948.02 (1) classifies the following 
acts as first degree sexual assault of a child 
(Class B felony, with the first two subject to 
a mandatory minimum term of confinement 
in prison of 25 years and the third subject to 
a mandatory minimum term of 5 years): 
� Sexual intercourse with a person who has 

not attained the age of 12 years. 
� Sexual intercourse with a person who has 

not attained the age of 16 years by use or 
threat of force or violence. 

� Sexual contact with a person who has not 
attained the age of 16 years by use or 
threat of force or violence if the actor is at 
least 18 years of age when the contact 
occurs. 

� Sexual contact with a person who has not 
attained the age of 13 years. 

2005 Wisconsin Act 437 provides that 
first degree sexual assault of a child is 
classified as a Class A felony if the sexual 
contact or sexual intercourse with a person 
who is less than 13 years old resulted in great 
bodily harm to the victim. 

Second Degree Sexual Assault of a 
Child.  Section 948.02 (2) prohibits sexual 
contact or sexual intercourse with a child 
who is under 16 years of age (Class C felony). 
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Sexual Intercourse with a Child Age 16 
or Older.  Section 948.09 prohibits sexual 
intercourse with a child who is at least 16 but 
less than 18 years of age and who is not the 
defendant’s spouse (Class A misdemeanor). 

Engaging in Repeated Acts of Sexual 
Assault of the Same Child. Section 948.025 
relates to committing three or more 
violations of first or second degree sexual 
assault against the same child within a 
specified period of time.  It is a Class A felony 
if a defendant committed at least three 
violations of sexual contact or sexual 
intercourse with a child less than 13 years of 
age that resulted in great bodily harm to the 
person.  It is a Class B felony if fewer than 
three of the first degree sexual assaults of the 
child resulted in great bodily harm.  It is a 
Class C felony if fewer than three of the 
offenses were violations of first degree 
sexual assault of a child.  Section 936.616 
provides for a mandatory term of 
confinement in prison of at least 25 years for 
violation of Section 948.025 and a mandatory 
sentence of life imprisonment without the 
possibility of parole or extended supervision 
for a second conviction. 

Sexual Assault of a Child − Failure to 
Act.  Section 948.02 (3) generally provides 
that a person responsible for the welfare of a 
child under 16 years of age must take action 
to stop or prevent sexual intercourse or 
sexual contact if the caretaker knows such an 
assault has occurred or is likely to occur 
(Class F felony). 

Sexual Assault of a Student by a School 
Instructional Staff Member.  Section 
948.095 prohibits sexual contact or sexual 
intercourse by a member of the instructional 
staff of a school district with a child enrolled 
in the school who is 16 years of age or older 
(Class H felony). 

Sexual Assault of a 16­ or 17­Year­Old 
by a Person Who Works or Volunteers With 
Children.  Section 948.095 prohibits sexual 

contact or sexual intercourse with a 16­ or 
17­year­old by a person who engages in an 
occupation or participates in a volunteer 
position that requires working or interacting 
directly with children other than through a 
school (Class H felony). 

Sexual Exploitation of a Child (Child 
Pornography).  Section 948.05 prohibits 
knowingly employing, using, persuading, 
inducing, enticing, or coercing any child to 
engage in sexually explicit conduct for the 
purpose of photographing, filming, 
videotaping, recording the sounds of the 
conduct, or displaying the conduct in any 
way.  It also prohibits the production, sale, 
distribution, or display of child 
pornography and holds liable a person who 
is responsible for the child’s welfare for 
knowingly permitting or encouraging the 
activity.  The prosecution has the burden of 
proving that the defendant knew or had 
reason to know that the child is under the age 
of 18.  The penalty was raised from a Class F 
to a Class C felony by 2005 Wisconsin Act 
433. It remains a Class F felony if the 
defendant was less than 18 years old when 
the crime was committed. 

Forced Viewing of or Listening to 
Sexual Activity.  Section 948.055 prohibits 
intentionally causing a child to view or listen 
to sexually explicit conduct for the purpose 
of sexually arousing or gratifying the 
violator or for humiliating or degrading the 
child (Class F felony if the child is under 13 
years of age; Class H felony if the child is at 
least 13 but less than 18 years of age). 

Incest with a Child.  Section 948.06 
prohibits marriage or sexual intercourse or 
sexual contact with a child related by blood 
or adoption in a degree of kinship closer than 
second cousin.  A person responsible for the 
child’s welfare who knows of the incest must 
take action to prevent such incest.  Also 
prohibited is a child’s stepparent having 
sexual contact or sexual intercourse with the 
child (Class C felony). 
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Sexual Assault of a Child Placed in 
Substitute Care.  Section 948.085 provides 
that a foster parent may not have sexual 
contact or sexual intercourse with a child in 
his or her care.  In addition, an employee or 
volunteer who works at a shelter care 
facility, group home, or residential care 
center may not have sexual contact or sexual 
intercourse with a child placed in one of the 
facilities (Class C felony). 

Child Enticement. Section 948.07 
prohibits enticing a child into any vehicle, 
building, room, or secluded place with the 
intent to: commit an act of first or second 
degree sexual assault; cause the child to 
engage in prostitution; expose a sex organ to 
the child or cause the child to expose a sex 
organ; or take pictures or make audio 
recordings of the child engaging in sexually 
explicit conduct (Class D felony). 

Soliciting a Child for Prostitution. 
Section 948.08 prohibits intentionally 
soliciting or causing any child to practice 
prostitution or establishing a child in a place 
of prostitution (Class D felony). 

Exposing Genitals or Pubic Area. 
Section 948.10 prohibits a person from 
causing a child to expose genitals or pubic 
area or the person’s exposing genitals or 
pubic area to a child for purposes of sexual 
arousal or sexual gratification, except in 
cases where the child is the person’s spouse 
(Class A misdemeanor). 

Exposing a Child to Harmful Material, 
Descriptions or Narrations.  Section 948.11 
prohibits knowingly selling, renting, 
exhibiting, transferring, or loaning to a child 
any material of a sexual nature that is 
harmful to a child.  It also prohibits exposing 
a child, through verbal or any other means, 
to a harmful description or narrative 
account (Class I felony).  Face­to­face contact 
is required for a violation to occur. 

“Harmful material” includes any 
picture, photograph, drawing, sculpture, 

book, pamphlet, magazine, printed matter 
however reproduced, sound recording, 
motion picture film or similar visual 
representation or image of a person or 
portion of the human body that depicts 
nudity, sexually explicit conduct, sexual 
excitement, sadomasochistic abuse, physical 
torture, or brutality that is harmful to 
children.  “Harmful description or narrative 
account” is defined as any explicit and 
detailed description or narrative account of 
the items listed above (except nudity) that, if 
taken as a whole, is harmful to children.  A 
material, description, or narration is 
considered harmful if three elements are 
present:  1) it predominantly appeals to the 
prurient, shameful, or morbid interest of 
children; 2) it is patently offensive to 
prevailing standards in the adult 
community as a whole with respect to what 
is suitable material for children; and 3) it 
lacks serious literary, artistic, political, 
scientific, or educational value for children, 
when taken as a whole. 

Possession of harmful material with 
intent to sell, rent, exhibit, transfer, or loan 
them to a child is a Class A misdemeanor. 
An affirmative defense exists if the child 
presents apparently official documentation 
of legal age. Libraries and educational 
institutions are exempted from liability. 

Section 134.46 prohibits exhibition of 
explicit sexual material harmful to minors at 
an outdoor theater if the material is visible 
from a public street, sidewalk, thoroughfare, 
or other public place or from private 
property where it may be observed by 
minors and provides a forfeiture not to 
exceed $1,000. 

Possession of Child Pornography. 
Section 948.12 prohibits intentional 
possession of any audio recording, 
photograph, motion picture, videotape, 
film, negative, or other pictorial 
reproduction of a child engaged in sexually 
explicit conduct.  The penalty was raised 
from a Class I to a Class D felony by 2005 
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Wisconsin Act 433.  The crime remains a 
Class I felony if the perpetrator was less than 
18 years of age at the time the crime was 
committed (Class D felony). 

Child Sex Offender Prohibited from 
Working with Children.  Section 948.13 
prohibits a person who has been convicted 
of certain serious sex crimes against children 
from subsequently working or volunteering 
in a position that involves interacting 
primarily with children under the age of 16. 
Crimes triggering the prohibition are first 
degree sexual assault of a child, engaging in 
repeated acts of sexual assault of the same 
child, sexual exploitation of a child, incest 
with a child, child enticement, and, if the 
victim is under 18, sexual contact by a 
therapist and second degree sexual assault 
upon a person who suffers from a mental 
illness or assault if the victim is under the 
influence of intoxicants. Occupations 
specifically banned to this group of convicts 
are teaching children, child care, youth 
counseling, youth organization, coaching 
children, parks or playground recreation, 
and school bus driving. Violation of this 
restriction is a Class F felony. 

Registered Sex Offender 
Photographing a Child.  Section 948.14 
prohibits a registered sex offender from 
intentionally capturing a representation of a 
minor without the written consent of the 
minor’s parent, legal custodian, or guardian. 
The person seeking the consent must state 
that he or she is required to register as a sex 
offender with DOC.  The law does not apply 
if the sex offender making the image is the 
child’s parent, legal custodian, or guardian 
(Class I felony). 

Tampering with a GPS Tracking 
Device.  Section 946.465 prohibits anyone 
from intentionally tampering with a GPS 
tracking device issued by DOC to track a sex 
offender (Class I felony). 

Reporting of Child Sexual Assault by 
Clergy, Physicians, Teachers, Etc.  Section 

48.981 (2) requires certain persons to report 
to the authorities any reasonable suspicion 
that a child seen by the person in the course 
of professional duties has been abused or 
neglected, has been threatened with abuse 
or neglect, or that abuse or neglect is likely to 
occur.  Abuse is defined as physical injury or 
emotional damage, and also includes sexual 
intercourse or contact; sexual exploitation of 
a child; permitting or encouraging a child to 
engage in prostitution; causing a child to 
view or listen to sexual activity; or exposing 
genitals or pubic area to a child.  Failure to 
report as required may be penalized by a fine 
of not more than $1,000 or imprisonment of 
not more than six months, or both. 

Among the persons required to report 
child abuse or neglect are:  physicians, 
nurses, and other health care providers; 
social workers; marriage and family 
therapists, alcohol or other drug abuse 
counselors and other professional 
counselors; school teachers, administrators, 
and counselors; child­care workers and day 
care providers;  police and law enforcement 
officers, emergency medical technicians and 
first responders; physical or occupational 
therapists; audiologists and 
speech­language pathologists; public 
assistance workers; and members of the 
clergy. Clergy members must report 
suspected abuse by other members of the 
clergy, but need not report child abuse 
information received solely through 
confidential communications made 
privately or in a confessional setting.  A 
person may not be discharged from 
employment for making a required report. 
An exception to the reporting requirement is 
for health care workers who provide to a 
child certain family planning services, such 
as contraception, pregnancy testing, and 
diagnosis and treatment for a sexually 
transmitted disease.  These workers are not 
required to report suspected sexual 
intercourse or sexual contact involving a 
child as abuse, unless there is reason to 
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suspect that: the intercourse or contact 
occurred or is likely to occur with a 
caregiver; that the child, because of age or 
immaturity, was or is incapable of 
understanding the nature or consequences 
of the sexual activity; that another 
participant in the activity was or is 
exploiting the child; or there is reason to 
suspect reasonable doubt as to the 
voluntariness of the child’s participation in 
the sexual activity. 

Use of a Computer to Facilitate a Child 
Sex Crime.  Section 948.075 prohibits the use 
of a computerized communication system 
(i.e., the Internet) to communicate with an 
individual who the person believes or has 
reason to believe is less than 16 years old 
with intent to have sexual contact or sexual 
intercourse with the individual.  In order to 
prove the person’s intent to have sexual 
intercourse or contact with the individual he 
or she believes to be a child, the person must 
have performed another act, such as 
traveling, in addition to using the computer 
to communicate with him or her (Class C 
felony, raised from a Class D felony by 2005 
Wisconsin Act 433). 

CRIMES AGAINST SEXUAL 
MORALITY AND OTHER SEX CRIMES 

Adultery. Section 944.16 prohibits a 
married person from having sexual 
intercourse with a person other than his or 
her spouse or a person having sexual 
intercourse with a person who is married to 
another (Class I felony). 

Incest.  Section 944.06 prohibits 
nonmarital sexual intercourse with a blood 
relative related in a degree within which the 
marriage of the parties is prohibited 
(generally a kinship of first cousins or closer) 
(Class F felony). 

Public Fornication.  Section 944.15 
prohibits sexual intercourse “in public,” 
defined as a place where or in a manner such 

that the person knows or has reason to know 
that the conduct is observable by or in the 
presence of persons other than the person 
with whom he or she is having sexual 
intercourse (Class A misdemeanor). 

Sexual Gratification.  Section 944.17 (2) 
prohibits acts of sexual gratification in 
public involving the sex organ of one person 
and the mouth or anus of another.  It also 
prohibits any public or private sexual acts 
with animals (Class A misdemeanor). 

Lewd and Lascivious Behavior.  Section 
944.20 prohibits acts of indecent sexual 
gratification with another with knowledge 
that they are in the presence of others or 
publicly and indecently exposing genitals or 
pubic area (Class A misdemeanor). 

Obscene Material or Performance 
(Pornography).  Section 944.21 prohibits the 
importation, printing, selling, or possession 
with the intent to sell, publish, exhibit, or 
transfer any obscene material.  The section 
also prohibits producing or performing in 
any obscene performance or exhibiting or 
transferring obscene material to a child. 
Libraries and educational institutions are 
exempt, as well as contract printers lacking 
editorial control over the material.  In 
keeping with the “free speech” provisions of 
the First Amendment to the U.S. 
Constitution and Article I, Section 3, of the 
Wisconsin Constitution, as well as the 
compelling state interest in protecting the 
free flow of ideas, the law is intended to 
combat commercial obscenity and not for 
censorship purposes (Class A forfeiture). 
(The penalty may be upgraded to Class A 
misdemeanor or Class H felony depending 
upon the number of prior convictions.) 

The definition of “obscene material” 
includes a written narrative or picture, 
photograph, drawing, sculpture, book, 
pamphlet, magazine, printed matter 
however reproduced, sound recording, 
motion picture film or similar visual 
representation or image of a person or 
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portion of the human body that depicts 
nudity, sexually explicit conduct, sexual 
excitement, sadomasochistic abuse, physical 
torture or brutality which the average 
person, applying contemporary community 
standards, would find appeals to the 
prurient interest, describes or shows sexual 
conduct in a patently offensive way, and 
lacks serious literary, artistic, political, 
educational, or scientific value, if taken as a 
whole.  This definition is based on the U.S. 
Supreme Court’s decision in Miller v. 
California, 413 U.S. 15 (1973). 

Making Lewd, Obscene or Indecent 
Drawings.  Section 944.23 prohibits making 
lewd, obscene, or indecent drawings or 
writing in public (Class C misdemeanor). 

Prostitution.  Section 944.30 prohibits 
having, offering, or requesting nonmarital 
sexual intercourse, sexual gratification, 
sexual contact, or masturbation for anything 
of value.  It also prohibits being an inmate of 
a place of prostitution (Class A 
misdemeanor). 

Patronizing Prostitutes.  Section 944.31 
prohibits entering or remaining in a place of 
prostitution with the intent to commit a 
sexual act with a prostitute or engaging in a 
sexual act with a prostitute (Class A 
misdemeanor). 

Soliciting Prostitutes.  Section 944.32 
prohibits a person from soliciting another to 
engage in an act of prostitution either with 
the first person or with a third party.  It also 
prohibits establishing any person in a place 
of prostitution (Class H felony). 

Pandering.  Section 944.33 prohibits a 
person from proposing that another person 
patronize a prostitute and prohibits the first 
person from either directing or transporting 
another person to a place of prostitution or 
directing or transporting a prostitute to the 
person (Class A misdemeanor; Class F 
felony if the panderer shared in the 
prostitute’s earnings). 

Keeping Place of Prostitution.  Section 
944.34 prohibits intentionally keeping or 
granting the continued use of a place of 
prostitution (Class H felony). 

Invasion of Privacy Offenses − 
Observance of Nudity.  Section 942.08 (2) 
makes it a Class A misdemeanor for a person 
to look into a private place that is, or is part 
of, a public accommodation, for the purpose 
of sexual arousal or gratification, if a person 
may reasonably be expected to be nude or 
partially nude.  It is a crime whether or not 
a person is actually present in the facility, 
such as a beach changing house, in which a 
person may reasonably expect to be safe 
from being observed without his or her 
knowledge or consent. Knowingly 
installing or using a surveillance device in a 
private place with the intent to observe a 
nude or partially nude person without 
consent is prohibited.  It is also illegal to 
enter another person’s private property 
without consent and look into a dwelling 
unit for the purpose of sexual arousal or 
gratification and with the intent to intrude 
upon or interfere with the individual’s 
privacy if an individual is present, the 
observed individual has a reasonable 
expectation of privacy, and the individual 
does not consent to the actor looking into 
that part of the residence.  A court may order 
a person convicted of this crime to register as 
a sex offender. 

Representations Depicting Nudity. 
Section 942.09 prohibits a person from 
capturing, reproducing, possessing, 
distributing, or exhibiting a representation 
(such as a photograph, motion picture, 
videotape, or other visual image) that 
depicts nudity without the consent of the 
person depicted if the person has a 
reasonable expectation of privacy (Class I 
felony). 

Sexual Exploitation by a Therapist. 
Section 940.22 (2) prohibits intentional 
sexual contact by any person who is or who 
holds himself or herself out to be a therapist 
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with a patient or client during any ongoing 
therapist­patient or therapist­client 
relationship, regardless of whether it is or is 
not consensual and whether it occurs during 
any treatment, consultation, interview, or 
examination.  “Therapist” is defined in 
Section 940.22 (1) (i) as “a physician, 
psychologist, social worker, marriage and 
family therapist, professional counselor, 
nurse, chemical dependency counselor, 
member of the clergy or other person, 
whether or not licensed or certified by the 
state, who performs or purports to perform 
psychotherapy” (Class F felony). In 
addition, a person who suffers, directly or 
indirectly, a physical, mental, or emotional 
injury caused by, resulting from, or arising 
out of sexual contact with a therapist has a 
civil cause of action against the therapist for 
all damages related to that sexual contact, 
including punitive damages. 

As provided by Section 940.22 (3), a 
therapist who suspects that a patient or 
client has been sexually exploited by another 
therapist must ask the patient or client if the 
therapist may report the abuse to law 
enforcement authorities. With written 
consent of the patient or client, the therapist 
will report the sexual contact to the 
appropriate regulating body or the district 
attorney.  The patient or client may keep 
their identity out of the report. Failure of a 
therapist to follow reporting requirements is 
a Class A misdemeanor. 

Sexual Exploitation by a Member of 
the Clergy. As described above, Section 
940.22 (2) prohibits a member of the clergy 
from having sexual contact with any person 
in connection with the clergy member’s 
religious or pastoral duties (Class F felony). 
2003 Wisconsin Act 279 created a civil cause 
of action for a child who suffers a physical, 
mental, or emotional injury due to sexual 
contact with a member of the clergy. Such an 
action, which must be commenced before 
the injured party reaches 35 years of age, 

may also be brought against a supervisor if 
he or she knew or should have known that 
the member of the clergy under his or her 
supervision had previously had sexual 
contact with a person under the age of 18 and 
had failed to report it to authorities and had 
failed to exercise adequate care to prevent 
similar incidents from occurring.  Reports 
may keep the name of the victim 
confidential until an action is commenced in 
open court, and any agreement to settle a 
claim may not limit or eliminate the right of 
the victim to disclose the sexual contact to 
religious authorities, a therapist, or to a 
district attorney. 

STATUTES OF LIMITATIONS 

Criminal Prosecutions. Generally, 
under Wisconsin law, prosecution of 
felonies must be commenced within six 
years of the commission of the crime, and 
prosecution of misdemeanors and adultery 
must be begun within three years.  However, 
for certain sex crimes against children, 
charges may be brought until the time the 
victim reaches age 45, raised from age 31 by 
2003 Wisconsin Act 279.  These include 
sexual exploitation of a child, incest with a 
child, child enticement if related to sexual 
activity, use of a computer to facilitate a child 
sex crime, soliciting a child for prostitution, 
and sexual assault of a student by a school 
instructional staff person.  In computing the 
limitation for sexual exploitation by a 
therapist, the law makes exception for any 
time during which the victim is unable to 
pursue a complaint due to the effects of the 
prohibited sexual contact or due to threats, 
instructions, or statements from the 
therapist. 

2001 Wisconsin Act 16 extended the 
deadline for commencing a prosecution in a 
first degree or second degree sexual assault 
case or a sexual assault of a child case if, 
before the statutory deadline, the state 
collects DNA evidence that theoretically 
enables it to identify the perpetrator of the 
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offense.  The state may then begin a 
prosecution within 12 months after an 
analysis of the DNA evidence results in a 
probable identification of a perpetrator. 
2005 Wisconsin Act 276 eliminates the 
statute of limitation for first degree sexual 
assault of a child (sexual contact or sexual 
intercourse with a child less than 13 years 
old) or engaging in repeated acts of sexual 
assault against the same child.  In addition, 
Act 276 provides that in cases of first degree 
sexual assault (of an adult), a prosecution 
may be started at any time after the analysis 
of DNA evidence identifies a probable 
perpetrator (Section 939.74). 

Civil Cases.  Civil actions for monetary 
damages to compensate a child for the 
physical, mental, or emotional harm 
resulting from sexual assault of a child or 
sexual exploitation of a child by a member of 
the clergy may be brought until the victim 
reaches the age of 35 years. 

PENALTIES FOR SEX CRIME 
VIOLATIONS 

Mandatory Minimum Sentences and 
Penalty Enhancements. Section 939.616 
provides for a term of confinement in the 
prison portion of a bifurcated sentence of at 
least 25 years for committing sexual assault 
of a child or engaging in repeated acts of first 
degree sexual assault of a child (three or 
more acts). 

Section 939.617 requires a prison term of 
at least five years for conviction of sexual 
exploitation of a child or use of a computer 
to facilitate a child sex crime, and at least 
three years in confinement for possession of 
child pornography.  The court has the 
discretion to impose a shorter term of 
confinement, but only if it finds that the best 
interests of the community will be served, 
and if it places its reasons on the record. 
These presumptive minimum sentences do 
not apply if the offender was less than 18 

years of age at the time the crime was 
committed. 

Section 939.618 provides for a minimum 
term of confinement in prison of at least 
three years and six months if a person has 
one or more prior convictions for a “serious 
sex crime” (first or second degree sexual 
assault) and subsequently commits a serious 
sex crime.  If a person has one or more prior 
convictions for first degree sexual assault 
and is subsequently convicted of the same 
crime, the maximum term of imprisonment 
is life imprisonment without the possibility 
of parole or extended supervision. 

Section 939.62 (2m) mandates a sentence 
of life imprisonment without the possibility 
of parole or extended supervision if the 
person is convicted as a “persistent 
repeater” for a second “serious child sex 
offense.”  This so­called “two strikes” law, 
which was originally created by 1997 
Wisconsin Act 326, was ruled constitutional 
in 2003 by the Wisconsin Supreme Court. 
Classed as a “serious child sex offense” 
under this law are: first or second degree 
sexual assault of a child; engaging in 
repeated acts of sexual assault of the same 
child; sexual exploitation of a child; causing 
a child to view or listen to sexual activity; 
incest with a child; child enticement; 
soliciting a child for prostitution; sexual 
assault of a child placed in substitute care; 
sexual assault of a student by a school 
instructional staff person; abduction of 
another’s child; or, if the victim was a minor 
and the convicted person was not the 
victim’s parent, interference with custody 
by parent or others. 

Child Pornography Surcharge.  If a 
person is convicted of sexual exploitation of 
a child or possession of child pornography, 
the court must impose a child pornography 
surcharge of $500 for each image or each 
copy of an image associated with the crime, 
with the number to be determined by the 
judge.  2005 Wisconsin Act 433, which 
created the surcharge, provides that the 
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proceeds will be distributed as follows:  50% 
to DOC for operation of its institutions and 
to provide field and administrative services, 
30% to DOJ for investigating the offenses of 
child enticement and possession of child 
pornography, and 20% to the Office of Justice 
Assistance for grants to nonprofit 
organizations that provide services to 
victims of sexual assault. 

Lifetime Supervision of Serious Sex 
Offenders. Section 939.615 authorizes the 
court to require, in addition to other 
penalties, that persons convicted of certain 
serious sex crimes be subject to lifetime 
supervision by DOC.  The person may 
petition to be released from monitoring after 
15 years if he or she has not been convicted 
of any crime during that period. Violating 
the conditions of lifetime supervision is a 
Class A misdemeanor, unless the conduct 
that violates the supervision is a felony, in 
which case the violation is a Class I felony. 

Pharmacological Treatment For 
Serious Child Sex Offenders.  Section 
304.06 (1q) provides for “chemical 

castration” of certain sexual offenders as a 
condition of parole.  A person sentenced to 
prison for sexual assault of a child under the 
age of 13 may be denied parole unless the 
person consents to participate in 
pharmacological treatment using an 
“antiandrogen drug,” a substance that 
inhibits the effects of male hormones, such as 
testosterone.  The court may also, when 
deciding whether to place an offender on 
supervised release, consider the person’s 
possible participation in pharmacological 
treatment if the person was found to be a 
sexually violent person (“sexual predator”) 
on the basis of conviction for sexual assault 
of a child under the age of 13. 

Penalties.  The penalty classifications 
provided by the Wisconsin Statutes are 
listed below.  Except for Class A and B 
felonies, both a fine and a bifurcated 
sentence may be imposed for felonies and 
misdemeanors.  (A bifurcated sentence 
consists of a period of confinement in prison 
followed by a period of extended 
supervision, which must be at least 25% of 
the total sentence.) 

Class Fine Sentence Length 
Felonies − Section 939.50 

Class A None provided Life imprisonment 
Class B None provided Not to exceed 60 years 
Class C Not to exceed $100,000 Not to exceed 40 years 
Class D Not to exceed $100,000 Not to exceed 25 years 
Class E Not to exceed $50,000 Not to exceed 15 years 
Class F Not to exceed $25,000 Not to exceed 12 years and 6 months 
Class G Not to exceed $25,000 Not to exceed 10 years 
Class H Not to exceed $10,000 Not to exceed 6 years 
Class I Not to exceed $10,000 Not to exceed 3 years and 6 months. 

Misdemeanors − Section 939.51 
Class A Not to exceed $10,000 Not to exceed 9 months 
Class B Not to exceed $1,000 Not to exceed 90 days 
Class C Not to exceed $500 Not to exceed 30 days 

Forfeitures − Section 939.52 
Class A Not to exceed $10,000 
Class B Not to exceed $1,000 
Class C Not to exceed $500 
Class D Not to exceed $200 
Class E Not to exceed $25 
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